Changing color of the new aero interface

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Dodge34, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. Dodge34

    Dodge34 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    52
    3
    0
    I was trying to customize the new look on my Windows 8 7989 and even if I change the color, its just reflect on the taskbar, the rest of the windows stay the same clear gray color, is there something I'm not aware about this issue, I've tried reading in the mega 84 pages thread to find something but its not clear on this place, if the new aero interface doesn't allow color changes, I'll grab the redpill to get the old style aero that change the color according to my settings on everything and not only the taskbar. Just to let you know, I'm running the real aero, not the basic one with no transparency effects.
     
  2. dareckibmw

    dareckibmw MDL Expert

    Jun 16, 2009
    1,175
    1,196
    60
    #2 dareckibmw, Jul 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    You could try and edit *.theme file, just open it up with notepad and change red part (default Aero in windows7)

    Code:
    [VisualStyles]
    Path=%ResourceDir%\Themes\Aero\Aero.msstyles
    ColorStyle=NormalColor
    Size=NormalSize
    ColorizationColor=0X1AFAFAFA
    Transparency=1
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Dodge34

    Dodge34 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    52
    3
    0
    Not exactly what I want, I've heard of automatic colorization based on the desktop wallpaper but its not present with this new aero I think, so I need to get the old aero more like in Windows 7 aero.
     
  4. Dodge34

    Dodge34 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    52
    3
    0
    I tried with replacing the files for the old aero, still I got the same problem, the color change is on the taskbar without problems, but the color doesn't change on the window border or anywhere else than the taskbar, not a big problem for now but that would be cool to see this corrected, I know for a fact that it was caused by the redpill cause prior to it, I was able to change the color without problems, but the unlocked features are better so I'll keep it this way for now.
     
  5. Dodge34

    Dodge34 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    52
    3
    0
    Searched everywhere today, is someone able to tell why I can change the color of the taskbar but the rest stay clear gray, and why I don't have the new option to have automatic color changing based on wallpaper.
     
  6. chbaldo

    chbaldo MDL Senior Member

    Jan 29, 2011
    251
    124
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Dodge34

    Dodge34 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    52
    3
    0
    I tried this but files can't be replaced, they are locked by the OS, I've unlocked them and replaced the files but still, only the taksbar change the color, the rest stay the same.
     
  8. chbaldo

    chbaldo MDL Senior Member

    Jan 29, 2011
    251
    124
    10
    But Aero reverted to the Windows 7 style using my files?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Dodge34

    Dodge34 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    52
    3
    0
    Yes but the color stay a clear gray transparency, the only part that change the color is the taksbar, that's really weird, I'm even thinking it could be due to the beta version of my Vmware, will try a Windows 7 virtual machine and do a report.
     
  10. Dodge34

    Dodge34 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    52
    3
    0
    Report, its not Vmware, its really Windows 8 M3 the problem, didn't have any problems changing the color of my virtual Windows 7 machine with latest updates on, maybe something caused by the redpill unlocking system.
     
  11. _spinner_

    _spinner_ MDL Addicted

    Apr 3, 2011
    680
    280
    30
    Read this post,
    if u disable hide blur with redpill(leaving all enabled...), u are able to change colors ....
     
  12. Dodge34

    Dodge34 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    52
    3
    0
    I'll give it a try, what is the Blur effect exactly.
     
  13. Dodge34

    Dodge34 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    52
    3
    0
    Amazing, it works, thanks, now will have to remove and reinstall redpill to get the new metro aero look, I would guess it change color without the hide blur setting.
     
  14. dareckibmw

    dareckibmw MDL Expert

    Jun 16, 2009
    1,175
    1,196
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Dodge34

    Dodge34 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    52
    3
    0
    Ok, it only remove the blur on the transparency part, I don't really need to remove blur there, maybe a newer version of redpill will correct the color customization problem with the no blur