Changing from SATA IDE to ACHI

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by DeathStalker77, Mar 17, 2012.

Tags:
  1. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    Can I just change the BIOS setting from IDE to ACHI for my SATA drives if all of them are NON-boot drives?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Michel

    Michel MDL Expert

    Jul 29, 2009
    1,711
    124
    60
    I think if you change it in the bios it will change for all hard drives, if you do you need to tweak your registery in order to avoid BSOD at startup. I tried it to test from ACHI to IDE and at startup you cant even enter in windows because of the BSOD all the time.
     
  3. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
  4. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    Ok, I wasn't sure if you needed to make the registry change if the drives weren't the boot drive. I'l give it a try.
     
  5. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    gotcha. with a controller card it does not matter whether boot drive or other. It is a way around pre install of ACHI driver.
     
  6. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
  7. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
  8. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    Are you using raid? Is the boot drive already running achi?
     
  9. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    Not, not running RAID, all single drives MBR formatted (not GPD), not running ACHI.
     
  10. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    What happens when you use the card method and you reconnect to the board upon rebooting the OS tells you a new device has been added and for changes to take effect you must reboot. The registry is changed then, I believe. For full disclosure this is the way I did it before MDL. I am certain there are other ways and if anyone is going to know the best way I know you will acrsn ;):worthy:. As I posted above this is one way. With earlier 900 series boards with Ich 7r sometimes you couldn't load the ACHI driver @ f6 on install. This is how we got around it then.

    Then with the non-boot drives there is no registry change required?
     
  11. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    Ok, well that did not go well :(

    I made the registry change, re-booted, the drivers installed fine, I re-booted, everything started fine, I re-booted again, made the changes to ACHI in the BIOS, re-stared, and got the following error -

    Warning: Have Option ROM can not be invoke (Vendor ID: 1095h, Device ID: 3124h) - followed by the BOOT DISK FAILURE error

    which would indicate the PCI add-on card for the internal SATA drives (Syba SY-PCI40026). I have tried disabling the legacy USB support in the BIOS, but that did not resolve the issue, I still get the BDF error.

    Fortunately, the IP35 Pro has a nice CMOS reset switch, else I would have been screwed :(

    Anyone have any ideas? (I have also sent an email to Syba regarding the issue)

    Many thanks.
     
  12. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    What OS are you running? The ACHI driver was been installed, right?
     
  13. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    Win7 x64 - yes, the drivers installed fine.
     
  14. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    #14 redroad, Mar 18, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2012


    Are there any drives on the control card that do not support ACHI ? If not try with controller card removed (remember to disconnect power when removing card or installing card ). and ACHI enabled Reboot , then shut down again reinstall card (no drives attached) with ACHI enabled and see if OS asks for driver for controller. Check hardware manager for any warning of missing driver. If all checks out shut down, reattach drives to controller and reboot

    Is there firmware or bios update for the controller card (x64)?
     
  15. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    No and no.

    Latest JMicron drivers installed.
     
  16. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    Jmicron is onboard conroller correct? If you boot without controller card installed and ACHI enabled what is the result?
     
  17. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    I have not tried that (yet) but I would expect it to boot normally, based on the conditions.
     
  18. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    Ok. That would be a way to confirm your suspicions on the card.

    so,

    1) does the card need firmware/bios update?
    2) is the card confirmed to support ACHI?
    3) is the controller card driver supporting the ACHI change and installed?
     
  19. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    1. I don't know - hopefully the mfr will have an appropriate response.
    2. Yes
    3. Yes
     
  20. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    #20 redroad, Mar 18, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2012
    Test!!
    1) boot with ACHI enabled and boot drive attached to on board controller with Controller card removed
    2) install controller card with no drives attached / check Hardware manager if it is reporting any missing drivers
    3) connect drives to controller card and reboot

    Post results and or questions