Compaq mini 110

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Analyz3r, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. Analyz3r

    Analyz3r MDL Junior Member

    Oct 27, 2009
    94
    0
    0
    Hi,

    I've tried to look inside the forum, but couldn't find if it is possible to install windows 7 on a compaq mini 110.

    I checked the pc with slic dump but it says slic table not found.

    Anyone can maybe help me ?

    Thanks
     
  2. YIN

    YIN MDL Member

    May 31, 2009
    155
    14
    10
    it seems that you have ami bios so here a hp mod for you
    http://hotfile.com/dl/19103323/80d0c63/f07.zip.html
    choose regular download and wait 1 minute for the download be ready
    there is slic2.1 for 7 and slp1 for xp
    there is 2 bios files:
    one modded and the other not (for recovery if needed)
    flash it with the latest afudos

    have fun :)
     
  3. Analyz3r

    Analyz3r MDL Junior Member

    Oct 27, 2009
    94
    0
    0
    Strange, the update went successful, but i had a bad blue screen at first restart...
     
  4. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. YIN

    YIN MDL Member

    May 31, 2009
    155
    14
    10
  6. YIN

    YIN MDL Member

    May 31, 2009
    155
    14
    10
    when i find "compaq mini 110" i get this:
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...g=en&os=2093&tool=&query=compaq+mini+110#N386

    p.s. i am not yen (the japanese guy) i am yin (georgian guy) and i'm just trying to help like others help me in my 1st mod
     
  7. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #7 NoJuan999, Dec 1, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
    345 different models on that page also.
    He never stated which exact model he has.
    So how do you actually know which BIOS is for his system ?????

    If he actually lists what model his compaq mini110 is then you will be able to mod the correct BIOS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Analyz3r

    Analyz3r MDL Junior Member

    Oct 27, 2009
    94
    0
    0
    On the label in the back it's written Mini 110c - 1110ez
     
  9. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    This is the download page for your PC:
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareCategory?lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&product=4048230&lang=en&

    This is the BIOS listed for your PC:
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...&dlc=en&cc=us&product=4048230&os=4062&lang=en

    If that is really an AMI BIOS.
    You can either flash that and then run AFUWin to make a back-up of that new BIOS or you can run AFUwin to back-up your current BIOS then upload that to be modified.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. YIN

    YIN MDL Member

    May 31, 2009
    155
    14
    10
    DONT USE AFUWIN!!!!
    its a crapy software
    use only afudos!!
     
  11. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #11 NoJuan999, Dec 1, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
    Analyz3r,
    You can definitely use AFUWin to make a back-up of an AMI Bios, if that is actually an AMI BIOS !
    Just don't Flash in Windows unless you have too.
    Which in your case that seems to be the only option if you flash the original Manufacturers BIOS.
    I have had many, many users do exactly that and then upload the Back-up to be modified and ALL have been successful.

    Unlike YIN, I don't give out advice lightly (or BIOS mods for that matter).
    I NEVER advise users to flash a BIOS if they don't know it is for there EXACT model PC.

    PS
    Never take advice from someone who advises you to flash a BIOS that may or may not be made for your PC.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    488
    180
    The blue screen is from the acpi change. XP doesnt like it. Try a repair install.

    AFUWIN is fine for most boards, it simply will not update the slic most times without modification..I certainly dont recommend it if there is an alternative option, but some OEMs have no other option. Using a DOS flasher not compatible with your bios is much worse than a windows flash...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. YIN

    YIN MDL Member

    May 31, 2009
    155
    14
    10
    so maybe my 1st mod is ok?!!
     
  14. Analyz3r

    Analyz3r MDL Junior Member

    Oct 27, 2009
    94
    0
    0
    I thought that too, i installed seven and then flashed bios, i guess seven didn't like that so much...

    How to i check if my bios is an AMI ?

     
  15. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    Download and run CPUz:
    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
    Click on the Mainboard tab and look in the Bios info.

    Or look at the boot screen when you boot your PC that should show the Bios type and revision.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Analyz3r

    Analyz3r MDL Junior Member

    Oct 27, 2009
    94
    0
    0
    Ran CPUZ, here are the results:

    Mobo manufacturer: Hewlett Packard
    Model: 308f KBC version 02.10

    Chipset: Intel i945GSE rev 03

    Bios brand: Hewlett Packard
    version: 308f0 ver f.07
    date: 06/18/2009
     
  17. Analyz3r

    Analyz3r MDL Junior Member

    Oct 27, 2009
    94
    0
    0
    No news ??
     
  18. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    It is probably an HP Rompaq BIOs but I may be wrong.
    Try going into BIOS setup (Press F10 at boot up) and see what it says in there.
    Since you have the PC it is really up to you to find out what type of BIOS it is.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Analyz3r

    Analyz3r MDL Junior Member

    Oct 27, 2009
    94
    0
    0
    Inside it says American Megatrends :) so seem to be an AMI right ?

     
  20. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    That would be correct.
    Just try to run AFUWIN and Click on the Save Button and upload the back-up Bios and I'll see if I can modify it with the AMI SLIC tool.
    http://www.ami.com/support/downloads/amiflash.zip
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...