Concept: Windows 7 Version E + N Combined

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Spyrocheti, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. Spyrocheti

    Spyrocheti MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    61
    14
    0
    Ok so the idea would be to have a Windows 7 SP1 RTM source
    altered in such manner that would have the "best" from all three
    worlds, thus it would be an E Version (No IE and whatever more)
    plus it would be a N Version (No MP/media center and w/ever more)
    and it should be able to OEM activate with Certificates and SLPKeys

    How would you do it?!

    PS, I am guessing the best source would be a "windows 7 sp1 rtm" iso
    since Version E has been officialy dropped and no SP1 iso exists and
    Version N has no known OEM SLP Keys and cannot be OEM activated.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. de3234f2

    de3234f2 MDL Novice

    Mar 9, 2011
    15
    0
    0
    umm N have a SLP key fro HP... not sure what you are trying to say there
     
  3. Spyrocheti

    Spyrocheti MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    61
    14
    0
    #4 Spyrocheti, Mar 18, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011
    (OP)
    I realise now that yours is also a valid way to read it ;)
    So let me apologise for the confusion due to my poor use of the english language and try to explain further.

    The whole idea is to remove from the original disk, not to add to it.

    Example 1.a) Removing all IE and related, thus virtually becoming an E version in "addition ;)" to
    1.b) Removing all WMP/WMC and related, thus virtually becoming an N-1 version.

    (About 1.b), on the post above jabberwocky fabulously explains the difference between versions N, N-1 and the current use of the version N term.
    In essence is like trying to recreate an "original N" Version, where both IE and WMP/WMC are absent, but from a windows 7 SP1 rtm disk that already has SP1 "factory integrated")

    The excercise would then produce a windows 7 SP1 disk, free from IE and free from WMP and it would OEM activate aswell.


    That one is an E key you are talking about and it does activate E version, I have tested it. I doubt it would activate the N, I won't lie though, I haven't tested that.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Spyrocheti

    Spyrocheti MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    61
    14
    0
    #5 Spyrocheti, Mar 18, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
    (OP)
    Thanks for the informative reply, if all else fails I would be very much interested in going down that road.
    Would it be too much trouble to list which 3 activation files need to be replaced from the normal nonN
    version? And would that source also need to be a nonSP1 disk like the one about to be modified?!
    I currently don't have the "original N" version but I am downloading one as we speak to test it out.
    There is a wzor listing of torrents in which they have both N aswell as N-1 listed, so I am guessing
    that'd be my best bet in acquiring an "original N" version.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jabberwocky

    jabberwocky MDL Member

    Aug 28, 2009
    201
    15
    10
    you need to get the files ferom a same version type , for example if you are planning to use 64bit ultimateN ,then get the following 3 files from a normal 64bit ultimate.
    the 3 files are 1 . Security-SPP-Component-SKU-Ultimate-ppdlic.xrm-ms
    2 . Security-SPP-Component-SKU-Ultimate-OEM-SLP-ul-oob.xrm-ms
    3 . Security-SPP-Component-SKU-Ultimate-OEM-SLP-ul.xrm-ms

    Along with a cert and key for the right system
    if you plan to setup a Dell ultimateN
    then you need the above 3 files along with a dell cert and dell ultimate key.
    finally a .bat file that will automatically install the above in a single action and fully activate your windows N version .
    I have several versions of the setup and .bat file adapted for different versions ,if you tell me what version and make you intend to use I can make up the nessesary files and post them for you . or you can pm me your email and I will send the files direct ,only a couple of KBs.
     
  6. Spyrocheti

    Spyrocheti MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    61
    14
    0
    #7 Spyrocheti, Mar 18, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
    (OP)
    I am planning setting up an MSI UltimateN,

    BIOS is modded, plus I already have the correct Certificate and will use an Asus Ultimate SLPKey.
    I will be modifying the "install.wim" to include EnterpriseN Version to my iso disks on both X64/86.

    -I am guessing the 3 afformentioned files will be the same for all versions, but not architectures?-->Edit:Wrong assumption!!
    I have PN'ed you my email address for your setup and .bat file.

    Many thanks in advance!

    Edit: I read your comment once again to realise that the files also change with the version of windows, so I would be very greatfull if you could provide files for Starter/HB/HP/Pro/Ent/Ult for both X64/X86
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Spyrocheti

    Spyrocheti MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    61
    14
    0
    On a side note concerning that image,
    At the "View update history" the first update is a security update for IE8?? on a non-IE version of windows? LOL!?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. jabberwocky

    jabberwocky MDL Member

    Aug 28, 2009
    201
    15
    10
    #9 jabberwocky, Mar 18, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
    I had not noticed that but checked it out anyway , there is an internet explorer folder in both program files folders but only 2 files in each , iecompat.dll and ieproxy.dll nothing else , not even hidden .I guess windows itself need those files for some reason .something to do with windows update maybe ,I dont know but there is no internet explorer.exe
    its a bit like the windowsmail folder that exists in all windows 7 installs ,its there but does not work .
    to be honest I dont remember seeing the folders before ,I wonder if the addition of SP1 has altered things a bit .
     
  9. jlgager

    jlgager MDL Developer

    Oct 30, 2009
    363
    3,161
    10
    Why don't you just go in to audit mode after install and remove the features you don't want?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Spyrocheti

    Spyrocheti MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    61
    14
    0
    Hi LateShift,

    Would you mind sharing these N keys, cause all I see are normal OEM SLP keys and "one" OEM SLP for version E?
    I could do some testing with such N keys, if possible for the different versions too(Starter/HB/HP/Pro/Ult)?

    Hi jlgager,

    Once in audit mode, wouldn't that only allow me to "turn off" features I don't like?
    I don't really fancy working with online images, tried integrating SP1 (deployed-windows/audit-mode/installed-SP1/cleaned-up/syspreped-generilized/captured-image) for example which seems too have worked too btw, but it does feel sloppy in comparison to a sp1 disk from microsoft. I would rather work offline. Guess removing packages/features is the way to go, but I am yet unsure what all I need to remove to get to my goal, I fear I might forget smth or remove too much ;p
    I found this he lp://ww w.ms fn.o rg/board/topic/137765-windows-7-rtm-32-64-bit-updated/ which might help me further, I'll do some more research.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...