Confusion regarding win 7 64 bit over 32 bit

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by tt17, Mar 1, 2011.

1. tt17

tt17 MDL Novice

Feb 25, 2011
    #1 tt17, Mar 1, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2011
    Hi all !

I am a newbie to all these windows installation & all, so As the title says, i m a bit confused regarding installing a 64 bit version as i m presently running a Win -7 prof. 32-bit. I have a Core 2 duo E7400(2.8 Ghz), 500 GB HDD, 4Gb Ram(2Gb installed+getting 2 Gb soon from a friend), nvidia 512mb graphics.

Now my main confusion is that i have partitioned my HDD in 5 drives with C drive being the primary/boot drive and rest of all containing movies, games & other data. SO i wanted to know if i try to install a 64 bit of Windows with a bootable disc will it install directly i.e. compressing old files into windows old folder or will it refuse to install saying u have a incompatible version installed.

At most of places i have read that u will need to format the partition for installing a 64 bit versions, so is it possible to format only C drive in which i have my current OS installation while installing 64 bit using the option to load driver & which is i guess used when partitioning a new HDD. My only fear is i don't want to loose all my approx. 350 Gb in other logical partition.

Any suggestion/clarification of my doubts will be really appreciated !
    thanx !

2. 7_eleven.hell-hole_rider

Aug 15, 2009
    High
    you need to install an additional 2GB memory for a total of 4GB before you'll be able to install x64 w/out getting an incompatible version installed error.

As for the rest no worry your other partitions will not be affected. Go to the blue link below

"The Official Windows 7 Repository" it's a good read with many howto tips for n00bs & power users alike.

:D

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mongen

mongen MDL Junior Member

Jun 14, 2009