Convert ESD to WIM

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by luky, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. luky

    luky MDL Addicted

    Dec 21, 2008
    721
    31
    30
    Guys help? how to change file install.esd in install.wim? (Windows 8 PRO ). :confused:
     
  2. Shenj

    Shenj MDL Expert

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,557
    652
    60
    You can't, Microsoft does not provide a tool to unpack .esd as far as i know
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,857
    2,029
    210
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Shenj

    Shenj MDL Expert

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,557
    652
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,612
    1,406
    60
    Not sure but use DISM.exe included in that build under "sources" folder
     
  6. Please-8

    Please-8 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 12, 2012
    92
    50
    0
    #6 Please-8, Nov 17, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Here (gravycode.com/what-is-a-esd-file-windows-8) it written, that the "CryptoKey" can be found in an XML file:
    Code:
    <CryptoKey>[..............CUT..............]<CryptoKey>
    So somebody can test how to use it to decrypt ESD file.
     
  7. swamp3

    swamp3 MDL Novice

    May 6, 2011
    1
    1
    0
    it's relatively easy. Install Win8 in vbox (vhd). sysprep win8. mount vhd in windows and capture installation with imagex to install.wim. replace install.esd with install.wim and you are done - the encryption is gone:biggrin:
     
  8. parapher

    parapher MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2012
    323
    248
    10
    I've done the sysprep method on the Upgrade ISO, but if RTM ISO's take upgrade keys, then what would be the purpose of converting an Upgrade ISO? I guess that would be my main question.
     
  9. Please-8

    Please-8 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 12, 2012
    92
    50
    0
    #9 Please-8, Jan 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    In this message (hxxp://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/38801-format-esd?p=662153&viewfull=1#post662153) user "LostED" shows a download protocol (?) with these lines:
    Code:
    CONX   Downloaded File: [ C:\Users\user34\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WebSetup\Download\WinPayload.esd ]
    CONX   Decrypted File: [ C:\Users\user34\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WebSetup\Download\WinPayload.esd.decrypt ]
    It seems to me that the downloaded file "WinPayload.esd" exists temporary as "WinPayload.esd.decrypt".
    So: Can we stop the deleting of "WinPayload.esd.decrypt" and rename the extension to ISO, ZIP or RAR ?

    I just try to download and give folder:
    C:\Users\[user name]\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WebSetup\Download\
    all rights. But denied permission of deleting files. Let's see what happens ...
     
  10. 100

    100 MDL Expert

    May 17, 2011
    1,346
    1,544
    60
    If you take away delete permissions or hardlink the file before it gets deleted you should be able to keep it, yeah. Still, it's going to be just the same as the .wim on the DVD, I imagine.
     
  11. SL2

    SL2 MDL Member

    Jan 18, 2012
    135
    35
    10
    I'm going crazy here. How do I assign a letter to the VHD? Disk management doesn't give me the option,
    and diskpart won't do what every guide on the net tells me it should be able to do..
    cmd.png
    Disabling the pagefile doesn't make any difference.

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  12. BTOR

    BTOR MDL Addicted

    Nov 18, 2009
    575
    584
    30
    do you mean the "change drive letter" in diskmanager dose not work ? and you are logged in as admin ? did you also try to remove (not delete ) the vhd from VBOX disk manager?
     
  13. Please-8

    Please-8 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 12, 2012
    92
    50
    0
    You cannot assign a drive letter to a disk - you only can assign a drive letter to a partition.

    So you need to create a partition. Then you can assign a drive letter to this partition.

    ...
    attach vdisk
    create part primary
    assign letter=x
    ...
     
  14. Please-8

    Please-8 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 12, 2012
    92
    50
    0
    This does not work. With denied deleting permission the download ends with "Download not successfully".

    But I see:
    • Whilst downloading a "*.tmp" file is created in download folder.
    • Whilst download shows 95% the "*.tmp" file is renamed into "WinPayload.esd". And no network traffic is shown for the rest of 5% download time.
    • Then the file "WinPayload.esd.decrypt" appears.
    • At this time folder "C:\ESD\Windows" is empty.
    • After download is completed "WinPayload.esd" disappears.
    • Extraction of "WinPayload.esd.decrypt" fills folder "C:\ESD\Windows"
    • After extraction in "C:\ESD\Windows" is completed "WinPayload.esd.decrypt" is deleted.
    All these files have exact same file size - but different hash codes:
    • Windows8-ProESDwithApps-64bit-EnglishUnitedKingdom-X1816623.esd
    • WinPayload.esd
    • WinPayload.esd.decrypt
    Neither "WinPayload.esd" nor "WinPayload.esd.decrypt" can be open with "7zip" as ISO, ZIP or RAR.
     
  15. SL2

    SL2 MDL Member

    Jan 18, 2012
    135
    35
    10
    #15 SL2, Jan 23, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
    It's not even there.
    Yes.
    Yes.
    It's a partition, created by Vbox, just like swamp3 suggested.
    Edit: Well I'm trying to install updates and remove components, not really the same thing, but I guess that doesn't make much difference here.
     
  16. Shenj

    Shenj MDL Expert

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,557
    652
    60

    "attach vdisk" will mount your VHD, also you can simply double-click a VHD file in explorer to mount it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. SL2

    SL2 MDL Member

    Jan 18, 2012
    135
    35
    10
    Yes I can do that, but I'm not able to assign a letter.
    cmd.png
     
  18. Please-8

    Please-8 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 12, 2012
    92
    50
    0
    OK - when the partition exist, then you must select it:

    ...
    attach vdisk
    list part (shows partition numbers; e.g. partition 1)
    select part 1
    assign letter=x
    ...
     
  19. SL2

    SL2 MDL Member

    Jan 18, 2012
    135
    35
    10
    I used takeown/icacls, then tried the same thing again, still didn't work. So I detached and left it as it was.

    Came back just to try what Please-8 said. But I only got to attack vdisk and suddenly two new partitions popped up in explorer.

    Thank you all for your help!:worthy:
     
  20. mykee

    mykee MDL Novice

    Nov 8, 2009
    1
    0
    0
    @Please-8: Sorry, I cannot open any WinPayload files with any program. o_O Tried with UltraISO, WinRAR.