Converting AMI APTIO .CAP file to BIN for programming vis SPI.

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by goldfinger, Aug 10, 2013.

  1. goldfinger

    goldfinger MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    89
    15
    0
    I'm trying to revive another motherboard by programming its BIOS chip with a programmer. But I need some way to convert a .CAP file into a regular BIN file. Has anyone succeeded doing this? How about an AMI .ROM file?

    Thanks
     
  2. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    #2 nexus76, Aug 11, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. goldfinger

    goldfinger MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    89
    15
    0
    Yeah, I read that but the thread was very ASUS specific, so I was skeptical that it would work. So you're sure that I can just cut 2k (2048bytes) from the CAP file and have a file I can use to program via SPI? I'll try it.
     
  4. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    #4 nexus76, Aug 11, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
    I have a SPI flasher (rayer) so I'm absolutely sure ; )
    But one thing: the FD44Editor can only open ASUS files, due to the ASUS$EFI header, that's the pain.
    Can you upload the file or give a link? I guess it makes things easier.
    However you can flash it, with SPI you can also flash BEEFCAFE or whatever you like, if it won't work flash it again ; )
    Trial and error - good for learning.
    As you mentioned above I had the same result dumping an ASUS bios which was CAP 8M and dumped from AFUWin as ROM about 6M.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. goldfinger

    goldfinger MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    89
    15
    0
    Here's the file. I can't post links so you'll have to remove the spaces.

    http :// download.ecsusa. com/dlfileecs/BIOSROM/H67H2-I/67I3130.zip

    So you figured out a way around the ASUS EFI header thing? Nice.
     
  6. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    #6 nexus76, Aug 11, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. goldfinger

    goldfinger MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    89
    15
    0
    ROM file is only 516KB?
     
  8. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    #8 nexus76, Aug 11, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
    yes! that's correct - flash it via SPI, it will work. Don't forget to unlock with spipgm /u and erasing with /e before flashing this ROM.
    Or flash back with flashrom from linux.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. goldfinger

    goldfinger MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    89
    15
    0
    I'll try it right now.. Hope it works.
     
  10. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    :dance: soon you will dance like « this banana : )
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. goldfinger

    goldfinger MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    89
    15
    0
    I wish. It still doesn't work :( I noticed that the first 4k (4096bytes) of your file are all FF. Is the boot block/descriptor missing?
     
  12. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    #12 nexus76, Aug 11, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. goldfinger

    goldfinger MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    89
    15
    0
    Hmm... I think the 2k offset is wrong. I have the factory original bios for this motherboard. Looks like I have to cut 4096bytes from .CAP file. I'll try that now.
     
  14. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. goldfinger

    goldfinger MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    89
    15
    0

    Attached Files:

  16. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    #16 nexus76, Aug 11, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. goldfinger

    goldfinger MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    89
    15
    0
    No, it is 32megabits or 4 megabytes.
     
  18. goldfinger

    goldfinger MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    89
    15
    0
    This board has been my only problem reprogramming. Do you think in-circuit programming damaged the board? Or maybe ECS does not provide full BIOS files for reprogramming I know the programmer is working fine.

    How could a bad bios update brick a board so hard???? :mad:
     
  19. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    #19 nexus76, Aug 11, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. goldfinger

    goldfinger MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    89
    15
    0