CPU Temp Monitoring

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by United Armada, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. United Armada

    United Armada MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    1
    0
    Was jusst wondering if anyone could point me towards a good program that can monitor my CPU temps, I think its overheating and I just need to be sure that it is before i take the steps to fix it.
     
  2. Nawzil

    Nawzil MDL Guru

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,206
    787
    90
    You can view the CPU Temperature in BIOS.
     
  3. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,933
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. United Armada

    United Armada MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    1
    0
    is there a wayt o get to the BIOS without restarting my pc?
     
  5. Nawzil

    Nawzil MDL Guru

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,206
    787
    90
    Nooooooooooo
     
  6. United Armada

    United Armada MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    1
    0
    if i have to restart my pc then how could the BIOS show me a accurate temp?
     
  7. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,933
    300
    It will only show you the temp at the time you view it, but most BIOS offer an option to sound a Warning Beep if a set Temp is exceeded.
    To view the CPU Temp while Running Windows, use one of the apps I linked to above.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. United Armada

    United Armada MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    1
    0
    aight I got the first one and this the stuff it is telling me:

    Model: Intel Core i5 (Lynnfield)
    Platform: LGA 1156 (Socket H)
    Frequency: 2608.04 MHz (133.75 x 19.0)
    Revision: B1
    Lithography: 45nm
    CPUID: 0x106E5
    TDP: 95.0 Watts

    Temperature Readings:

    Tj. Max: 99 Degrees C
    Core1: 41 Degrees C
    Core2: 39 Degrees C
    Core3: 42 Degrees C
    Core4: 41 Degrees C
     
  9. Flipp3r

    Flipp3r MDL Expert

    Feb 11, 2009
    1,555
    664
    60
    Check if your motherboard comes with a utility.
    MSI has a tool called ClickBiosII thats links with the bios & you can mod/view details..
    They also have a OC Genie tool for overclocking that you can use similar to a gadget which shows temp & cpu freq..

    Realtemp & coretemp report the wrong info on some of the newer cpu/chipsets. ie, X79...
     
  10. United Armada

    United Armada MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    1
    0
    Im pretty sure I dont have a MSI motherboard. I also checked to see if those temps were normal, and 35-40 is normal by most standards anything above 45 is getting a lil too hot. So idk whats wrong with it. Makes no sense since when I run the games i play i have 4GB+ Ram left.
     
  11. United Armada

    United Armada MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    1
    0
    Well the outside temp is somewhere around 20-30 Degrees. And at the moment for some reason im running at 50-60 Degrees C. Weird though cuz earlier i was at a steady 40... I just got a new HDD and im currently running 2, My uncle said i should have fans for the HDDs since i got 2 instead of one, so they heat up quicker. When im gaming it depends on what game i am playing because when i play Silkroad Online I run at around 40 Degrees C with 12 clients. But when I play Lord of the Rings Online it spikes up to around 55-60 Degrees, which i just noticed. I think there also might a problem with the hardware because when i restart maybe 30 minutes later i hear a sputtering sound and then it sounds like a fan dies or something.
     
  12. United Armada

    United Armada MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    1
    0
    hm. well then why would my FPS drop down really low, why doesnt it stay smooth?
     
  13. United Armada

    United Armada MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    1
    0
    i asked somewhere else on here what it could be and they said to start with the CPU temps. It started maybe a month or so ago, off and on. Not everytime. The game should be a problem for the GPU, is there a place where i can see the settings for the GPU and maybe change them if they arent where they should be?
     
  14. United Armada

    United Armada MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    1
    0
    Slow down there. Where can I find all of this. Like i said in my first post, or should have if didnt im not that big of a computer buff so I dont know where alot of these things are.
     
  15. United Armada

    United Armada MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    1
    0
    #15 United Armada, Dec 9, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2011
    (OP)
    Where do i find the PC Model # and the GPU model # and im running a ATI gfx card if gfx card = GPU.

    The GPU model number i think is the HD 6850, which i recently just updated i believe.
     
  16. United Armada

    United Armada MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    1
    0
    Its custom, my gfx card model number should be the HD 6850, unless thats something else. Im running windows 7 ultimate.
     
  17. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,933
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. In2it

    In2it MDL Novice

    Nov 13, 2007
    32
    0
    0
    Check out Speedfan.
     
  19. Q9650

    Q9650 MDL Member

    Mar 20, 2010
    123
    26
    10
    coretemp=ftw
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. emerica243

    emerica243 MDL Novice

    Mar 3, 2010
    26
    2
    0
    CoreTemp and RealTemp would be my suggestions