Create a customized Windows 7 All In One Installation

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by fdjc, May 6, 2014.

  1. fdjc

    fdjc MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    191
    21
    10
    Hi Guys,
    I do a fair it of PC repair work on the side as well as in the office and thanks to a guide a found here about 2 years ago I was able to create an All-In-One Windows 7 x86/x64 SP1 install disk with all 9 options available.

    Its proven to be useful on many occasions.

    Anyway I am now thinking of creating a new one but more customized and more updated (unfortunately no Windows 7 SP2!).

    I want a little more automation during setup:
    - Skip region setup = English UK language & keyboard automatically
    - Skip wireless
    - Skip product key
    - Skip Network Type (if LAN connected: set maybe default as home?)
    - Custom homepage (probably google tbh lol)
    (Dabbled with autoattend.xml but it never really worked)

    Only really want prompted/manual input for selecting the version of Windows (starter~ultimate & x86/x64), installation drive, Computer Name and User Name


    I am also intending it to do the following:
    - Install IE 11
    - Install Microsoft Security Essentials
    - Install .NET 4.5/4.5.1
    - Have updates slipstreamed as much as possible to reduce time thereafter doing Windows Updates


    Optional:
    - Install Directx 9.0c
    - Contain Driver packs of RAID/mass storage
    - Copy a folder (containing my build software which I could update with new releases) over to desktop once everything is complete


    I am going to run this off a 32GB USB pen so size isn't much of an issue.


    Can anyone suggest what apps I would be best to use for this kind of setup?

    I have tried a few but my work has been for the most part unsuccessful, then again I haven't found a great tutorial or maybe just not looking in the right places for it.

    My main issue is I guess its to tailor for different hardware, Dell, HP, Samsung, Sony, Packard Bell, Advent, Acer etc
    You name it, I've worked with it, 99% of the time the old AIO ISO works perfectly fine, just I spend too long doing updates now.

    Any help is appreciated. More opinions the better.
    Regards Fdjc
     
  2. Daimao

    Daimao MDL Junior Member

    May 8, 2012
    53
    25
    0
    Use the simplix pack to integrate ie11 and all updates.
    Use the 4.5.1 netframework installer from ricktendo to install 4.5.1 with all updates.
    Saves a lot of time.
     
  3. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    #3 f33nix, May 7, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  4. fdjc

    fdjc MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    191
    21
    10
    Sounds exactly what I am trying to do, both you guys I mean.

    F33nix, I am looking a more detailed guide or step-by-step tutorial.
    It has been probably 2 and a half years since I last did this but cant find the link to guide I used back then. Tried for weeks to find but to no avail.

    I have my Ultimate SP1 x86 a& x64 ISO's extracted with the ei.cfg files removed from both. Do the CLG files actually need to go as well?

    A lot of my queries will sound quite noobish to begin with until I get the feel of it again.

    Regards,
    F
     
  5. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    Most is straight forward to be honest, up to combining the 2 ISO's... that part I have done, just not with a combined unattended file.

    I have only made an unattended for XP install that set location to UK/GMT, but you need to really need to do a little own "homework" otherwise someone may as well just make the file for you then send it, and custom ISO's are not allowed to be posted here of course.


    I am not sure how much more detail I could write, I did make a video of creating and multi-OEM XP ISO from source.
    If I was you then I would get the 2 source ISO's mentioned.
    Then try to make your own SEPERATE ISO's by pulling out the EI.CFG and the *.CLG files from each (you can use UltraISO if you want to preserve the BOOT code (for EFI booting the 64-bit))

    I think if you make a start yourself then I am sure people will help more, me included.
    Your main issue is to either combine the 2 ISO's to a single, or to keep seperate and use the Easyboot tools to create USB stick that can boot the ISO's.
     
  6. fdjc

    fdjc MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    191
    21
    10
    #6 fdjc, May 7, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    I might skip the unattended bit for the moment then.
    Looking like the Easyboot option with separate x86 and x64 ISO's.

    I already have 2 ISO's:
    Code:
    Ultimate-English-x86-X17-59463
    
    Ultimate-English-x64-X17-59465
    How do they differ from the ones you mention?

    Aye I'm basically starting from scratch again, have to install WAIK and all that other stuff here now.
    Had tried numerous GUI AIO creation tools over past few weeks, some worked partially but nothing worked completely unfortunately.
     
  7. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,055
    20,252
    340
    #7 s1ave77, May 7, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    If you already removed the ei.cfg the x86 ISO should offer these versions for install:


    Code:
    ███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
    
    Checking All Indices
    
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
    
    WIM: n:\sources\install.wim
    
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
    
    IND  MODIFIED    LP  ARC  BUILD           EDITION
    
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
    
    [1]  21.11.2010  US  x86  6.1.7601.17514  Windows 7 STARTER
    
    [2]  21.11.2010  US  x86  6.1.7601.17514  Windows 7 HOMEBASIC
    
    [3]  21.11.2010  US  x86  6.1.7601.17514  Windows 7 HOMEPREMIUM
    
    [4]  21.11.2010  US  x86  6.1.7601.17514  Windows 7 PROFESSIONAL
    
    [5]  21.11.2010  US  x86  6.1.7601.17514  Windows 7 ULTIMATE
    
    
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
    
    
    Drücken Sie eine beliebige Taste . . .
    The x64 Image does not have STARTER, as this is x86 only.


    What more would you need ... :g:? The Easy2Boot idea is great, using such usb pendrives here either :good3:.

    NOTE 1: Enterprise would be the only Client addition to add.

    NOTE 2: It's a definite PITA to update and maintain all indices if you never install them :cool2:.

    NOTE 3. The by far mightiest tool would be dism.exe proudly provided by MS themself :cool2:. Needs a bit reading and testing, but will solve the challenge to your specific liking ... i promise!!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    #8 f33nix, May 7, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Build your ISO's stage by stage, not too hard.
    I have outlined the steps I would take and the rough order.

    You could install UltraISO to edit the source ISO's and preserve the boot code (used for normal BIOS/EFI booting the 64-bit version)
    I just delete the EI.CFG and remove the *.CLG files, then you can copy out the BOOT.WIM and INSTALL.WIM (from one architecture at a time) then edit the file as I have written.
    Then you can copy them back in UltraISO.

    Test the ISO in VirtualBox, to see if it can boot still, and to see if Windows does not need much updating.
    Then you can try to add in the setupcomplete.cmd to install items post install.
    Test again the ISO in VBox.

    When that is ok, then move on and repeat for the 64-bit architecture.

    Then create your USB bootable disk to test your ISO's on real machine with spare drive.
     
  9. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,055
    20,252
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. fdjc

    fdjc MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    191
    21
    10
  11. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    #11 f33nix, May 7, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    From what I know the only difference is the names, the names I gave are for the MSDN names, and yours are the Digital River names.
    As I have said in PM, best to always run a hash check on the files before you start to cook with them.

    This is posted for benefit of those following thread only as I think his files are 100% match for the MSDN hash values.



    If you have SSD drive then it would fly along, otherwise it will prob take an hour per index.
    After updating the Boot.wim and the Install.Wim I would recompress the files, think this is covered in one of my posts by script file.
     
  12. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,055
    20,252
    340
    Unfortunately that way needs to be done every time from scratch, afaik no way to update an already updated WIM. For that reason i have Win 7 in Audit Mode installed which i update and than capture back to WIM file :cool2:.

    You should skip versions you'll never ever need to install and create an AIO specific to your needs :D.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. fdjc

    fdjc MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    191
    21
    10
    Oh but of course, letting my serverbox do all the work :)
    The UpdatePack7 is some job, thats gona make my life so much easier.

    The other good thing about this is the commands can then be put into a script so one or two clicks and I let er work away :D

    @s1ave77, I had contemplated that but I get machines from starter thru to Ultimate. Most common of course is Home Premium.
    My needs are primarily to reduce manual input so I can increase my output.

    Post-install I have my processes well slipstreamed, majority of my time was always spent on Windows Updates.
    My AIO SP1 ISO at the time greatly reduced that but there's just so many updates since that and MS wont be releasing an SP2.
     
  14. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,055
    20,252
    340
    That sounds plausible and as long as you have enough computing power it's only a matter of some time :cool2:. To batch integrate drivers dism would be an option :good3:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. fdjc

    fdjc MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    191
    21
    10
    Yeah I'm starting to remember some of the stuff now, commands looking more familiar.

    Its not a beast but not bad: Core-i7 2600, 8GB RAM, WHS 2011 OS on 240GB Sandisk extreme. (Excluding all my 12TB's of pr0nz!)
     
  16. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,055
    20,252
    340
    #16 s1ave77, May 7, 2014
    Last edited: May 8, 2014
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. gamazet

    gamazet MDL Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    279
    944
    10
    #17 gamazet, May 7, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  18. fdjc

    fdjc MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    191
    21
    10
    #18 fdjc, May 7, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  19. gamazet

    gamazet MDL Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    279
    944
    10
    Just made some small edits in my post above. Thanks
     
  20. fdjc

    fdjc MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    191
    21
    10
    #20 fdjc, May 8, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Hi f33nix
    Currently working on integrating the drivers via the x86 script you have linked to.
    It integrated 144 mass storage drivers (from DriverPacks) into the boot.wim but then fails on the below 2 commands:

    Code:
    ::Compress the 2 indexes to file boot.wim with max compression
    dism.exe /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:source.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:boot.wim /Compress:Max
    dism.exe /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:source.wim /SourceIndex:2 /DestinationImageFile:boot.wim /Compress:Max
    
    I had a quick Google, the "export-image" command is supposedly only present in DISM for Windows 8/8.1, would that be accurate?

    Think I can install WADK which gives an updated version of DISM, do I need to redo everything I have done to date then or just the boot.wim + driver integration?

    I worked with copies of install.wim and boot.wim when I started today with integrating the drivers.

    Regards,
    F