Create image backup for new laptop

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by carmz, Jul 14, 2019.

  1. carmz

    carmz MDL Senior Member

    Nov 29, 2011
    341
    12
    10
    Hi I bought zephyrus S gx701gv RTX 2060
    the pre build is windows 10 home..and I want to install the enterprise or pro edition..my problem is I want to create backup image so that if anything gets wrong with installation I can go back to the pre build..can you please help me.

    Thank you in advance
     
  2. vigipirate

    vigipirate MDL Member

    Feb 24, 2011
    135
    36
    10
    Hello
    for your backup there is no risk
    terabyte image for windows
    macrium reflect free or pro
    the best is to change your hard drive if you want to make a change of bones his simplest if there is an error in the backup this can happen unfortunately does not take the risk of all lose me I change the hard drive for my experience or virtual machine VMWARE virtualbox voila
     
  3. carmz

    carmz MDL Senior Member

    Nov 29, 2011
    341
    12
    10
    My laptop is new and i dont want to buy another ssd...all i want is to have image back up and also is it possible to get the license key of my pre build os?...
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,962
    3,276
    300
    If this is branded laptop you should have the option to make recovery dvd's or thumbdrive does it not have Asus one key recovery. As for installation key it is embeded in bios you should never need it again HWID is stored on MS servers.
     
  5. carmz

    carmz MDL Senior Member

    Nov 29, 2011
    341
    12
    10
    Hi how can do that to make recovery dvd or thumdrive?.. or is it created already when I purchased the laptop?...what do you mean I will not need anymore the key because it is embeded in the bios.?..once I install another version of windows 10 like pro then it fails then I want to go back to windows 10 home. Is the licnese key will be gone?...how can i use back again my pre build o.s windows 10 home...sorry for my question ..please help
     
  6. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,962
    3,276
    300
  7. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,962
    3,276
    300
  8. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    22,543
    31,257
    390
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,962
    3,276
    300
    @Enthousiast , :D you beat me to it, didn't realise you had already posted in on pid.txt and ei.cfg to busy looking for info on laptop that someone should already have o_O
     
  10. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    22,543
    31,257
    390
    No worries, that's why crossposting is frowned upon :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. carmz

    carmz MDL Senior Member

    Nov 29, 2011
    341
    12
    10
    Hi guyz thank you...sorry for cross posting...before I will format by the way where I can get windows 10 home so that I can re-install if something happen in my installation for windows 10 pro.?
     
  12. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    22,543
    31,257
    390
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...