Creator's Update Questions

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by DeathStalker77, May 29, 2017.

  1. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    332
    20
    10
    Hello all!

    I would like to know if there is any way to *prevent* the Creator's Update from installing? I have things tweaked just the way I want them now, and I understand that the update basically provides nothing positive, but a bunch of ways to screw your system up (especially for gaming).

    I'm rather surprised I didn't see a Sticky dedicated to it.

    Thanks! :)
     
  2. GOD666

    GOD666 MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2015
    1,972
    2,025
    60
    Assuming you are using either Windows Pro, Enterprise, or Education edition

    Settings > Update and Security > Windows Update > Advance options >

    Check the box next to "Defer feature updates"
     
  3. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    332
    20
    10
    Cool. Done :)

    Anyone think that it will be "forced" at some point? I have no current issues with sound, video, or performance, so I don't want things getting screwed up until people have found work-arounds :)

    Thanks!
     
  4. GOD666

    GOD666 MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2015
    1,972
    2,025
    60
    #4 GOD666, May 29, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2017
    At some point, yes. Microsoft likes to think of Windows 10 as a rolling release and eventually, if you're not using the current release, you'll stop receiving support. Deferring updates you'll continue to receive security updates; you'll just not receive features updates (until such point when Microsoft finally demands you update).

    An example of Microsoft putting their foot down would be v1 of Windows 10 (I forget the build number). Today, v1 receives no support and you actually have to upgrade in order to install the newer patches. The only exception to this rule appears to be Windows Enterprise LTSB edition (their long term business supported edition).

    If you're using Windows Pro, Enterprise, or Education you should be "OK" for a few months. During that time, while you have it deferred, you'll continue to receive security updates only.
     
  5. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,855
    3,957
    180
    install LTSB 2016 and live free of 'Feature' updates until 2019
     
  6. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    332
    20
    10
    Ok, how do I install LTSB from the Pro version?

    Thanks.
     
  7. GOD666

    GOD666 MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2015
    1,972
    2,025
    60
    #7 GOD666, May 29, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2017
    You can upgrade to Enterprise LTSB but keep in mind that LTSB is more like Windows 7 Pro (to an extent). It has the classic apps such as the calculator, but it will not have any modern apps at all. You can add store if you like (see my signature), but if you are going to go down that route, you're better off wiping out Windows and installing a fresh copy of Windows LTSB. If you don't care about the store; a simple upgrade will do just fine.
     
  8. GOD666

    GOD666 MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2015
    1,972
    2,025
    60
  9. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    332
    20
    10
    I'm not concerned about the AppStore or apps, more about stuff like DX12 and other Win10 required stuff. If I can "upgrade" and not mess up any of my current program installations, that would be better - wiping and re-installing from scratch would be a tremendous headache at this point.
     
  10. GOD666

    GOD666 MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2015
    1,972
    2,025
    60
    In that case, upgrading will work. You'll even keep the store within the account you're currently using (will not apply to new user accounts though). It will keep most of your settings and all your installed apps too.
     
  11. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    332
    20
    10
    Is there a listing of what the essential differences between the PRO & LTBS versions are?

    Thanks!
     
  12. GOD666

    GOD666 MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2015
    1,972
    2,025
    60
    #12 GOD666, May 30, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2017
    If you're looking for a side by side chart of the listed feature, you'll find no such chart with LTSB listed. The big difference are as follows

    • Only security updates
    • ZERO new features (exception being if needed for security)
    • Includes the classic apps (zero modern apps)
    • Internet Explorer is the default (NO edge browser) -- You can, of course, install any other browser (except edge)
    • No ads from Microsoft
    • Most of the spying removed (80% of it gone)
    That about sums it up.

    To simplify, the idea behind LTSB --- Imagine Windows 7 with the Windows 10 start menu and with DirectX 12. In other words, for many of us, LTSB is what Windows 10 should have been from the start.
     
  13. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    332
    20
    10
    Hmmm, well that sounds pretty damn good to me!

    So my next question, obviously, is if I have the current PRO version as registered, will that carry over to the LTBS install? If not, what is the process to register/authenticate the LTBS version?

    Thanks! :)
     
  14. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,543
    5,047
    210
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. GOD666

    GOD666 MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2015
    1,972
    2,025
    60
    #15 GOD666, May 30, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2017
    No, your Pro activation will not carry over. You'll need to activate it.

    I use this tool to activate Windows Enterprise LTSB
    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/th...al-kms-solution-for-microsoft-products.28669/
     
  16. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    332
    20
    10
    Ok, will grab that and keep things in mind. I need to plan this out, just in case things go awry (heck, don't they always?! ;) )
     
  17. GOD666

    GOD666 MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2015
    1,972
    2,025
    60
    Best of luck to you and if you do end up needing help, there are a lot of folks here on MDL that can point you in the right direction. :)
     
  18. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,699
    22,598
    340
    Was always curious, since this is propagated often, but so far i saw no proof. Just checked the WinSxS packages for any telemetry related packs ...

    Time to disenchant this myth! The list is nearly identic to a normal Pro one. Telemetry, Search2, SearchEngine, (even) Cortana, Biometrics, Geolocation ... all are present.

    Packages.ltsb.1607.txt
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. GOD666

    GOD666 MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2015
    1,972
    2,025
    60
    I'm not going to debate whether or not it has any because it does. However, the degree of what it reports is not as extensive and once disabled appears to stay off. I think that is why folks repeat that statement because it is easier to manage and it doesn't report to the extent as Home or Pro.

    Your text only lists the packages that are there. Being there as opposed to being used are two different things. If you're looking for them NOT to be there, don't use Windows 10 at all, since they are there in all editions.
     
  20. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
    --- error posting ---
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...