Dell bios, how to decompose / mod.

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by wolf69, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. wolf69

    wolf69 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    277
    19
    10
    I did i test mod for a dell xps 400 by inserting the m09 slic 2.1 into the bios and tried flashing and it worked i dont now if maybe it was glitch or not.
     
  2. shakeyplace

    shakeyplace MDL Addicted

    May 5, 2007
    861
    75
    30
    #2 shakeyplace, Nov 21, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2009
    Well, I have always thought it was possible. I expected that the 5 byte header would have to be built (we can do that, the index byte may have to be experimented with, but the 4 length bytes we could definetely do) there is the issue whether it matters if the index byte precedes or should be behind the length bytes or if there is a way we could determine which would be best and I am unsure of the first byte of the actual module, I think there is an extra byte added to the start of the module, most of the modules start with either 00 or 40 (slic modules anyways), I suspect that indicates the module type ie, to indicate a hole.rom...But this is just speculation... Do you have a link to the bios you flashed? I would be very interested in looking at it...
    Also, does it activate? does slic show in the slic dump toolkit?
     
  3. wolf69

    wolf69 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    277
    19
    10
  4. shakeyplace

    shakeyplace MDL Addicted

    May 5, 2007
    861
    75
    30
    WOW, I like that, simple, just replace 374 bytes after the ACPI module with a slic module!
     
  5. wolf69

    wolf69 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    277
    19
    10
    Yeah i seen that there was alot of ff's so i just figured that that was data not written onto yet. Dont want to post anywhere till maybe we get more successful installs with it. now if i can only make a install executable
     
  6. shakeyplace

    shakeyplace MDL Addicted

    May 5, 2007
    861
    75
    30
    You mean to install the bios, np, we can rebuild the executable easily..
    Andyp can even incorporate in his new phoenix tool, I am sure. Do you want me to build the exe?
     
  7. wolf69

    wolf69 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    277
    19
    10
    Sure and have andy look at it and see what he thinks i dont want to be responsible for bricked boards or anything
     
  8. shakeyplace

    shakeyplace MDL Addicted

    May 5, 2007
    861
    75
    30
    #9 shakeyplace, Nov 21, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
    wolf69, I have a couple question, how did you flash your PC with the new bios? Did you use that actual file, it is 16 bytes too short????
    anyways, here is a rebuilt executable, with the 16 bytes missed. Do you want to check that out, see what you think?


    here is the rom file I based it on...
     
  9. shakeyplace

    shakeyplace MDL Addicted

    May 5, 2007
    861
    75
    30
    well, the file I uploaded should be right then, I'll post this in the Dell thread once you upload the proper file for me to double-check...
     
  10. wolf69

    wolf69 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    277
    19
    10
    ok im looking for it now sorry for the mistake
     
  11. takasuite

    takasuite MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    328
    3
    10
    Hm, i have something to learn here :)
     
  12. takasuite

    takasuite MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    328
    3
    10
    How is about the strings after "RSDT" string which are not match with slic 2.1. Waiting for Wolf69 to install W7.
     
  13. wolf69

    wolf69 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    277
    19
    10
    Installed windows 7 but it didnt activate used the slic dump 2.3 and the rsdt table didnt match sorry for the waste of time