Dell Inspiron 530 won't flash same version

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Porkrinds, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. Porkrinds

    Porkrinds MDL Novice

    May 15, 2008
    25
    2
    0
    #1 Porkrinds, Aug 27, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2009
    The tool that dell uses from Windows to flash the bios doesn't let you flash the same version (1.0.18 -> modded 1.0.18). Is there a way around this?

    I tried the trick where you run the Dell 530_1018.EXE then swap the modded SLIC2.1 bios with the original SLIC2 bios in the temp directory. I get told that it won't flash the same version.

    I could try a USB key, but where is the thread for that guide with the HP tool? Also would need the DOS tool to do the flash... any awardflash.exe ??
     
  2. whitehat2009

    whitehat2009 MDL Member

    Aug 1, 2009
    163
    2
    10
    #2 whitehat2009, Aug 27, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. nuhkka

    nuhkka MDL Member

    Aug 7, 2009
    193
    22
    10
    i have the same pc and bios as well, tell me what method u used cause i still cant figure out what your supposed to do
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Reign_Of_Freedom

    Reign_Of_Freedom MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2009
    1,263
    453
    60
    @ nuhkka This is what you do with a DELL pc. You hit it a few times with a good hammer then toss it out the window then go retrieve it. Next you file an insurance claim on the PC - if you have insurance that is. Then you take the money they give you and build your own pc.

    Dell's and HP's are retail pieces of junk they make them so they break right after your warranty is out then your stuck with a real POS.
     
  5. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
  6. Porkrinds

    Porkrinds MDL Novice

    May 15, 2008
    25
    2
    0
    #7 Porkrinds, Aug 28, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Looks like I managed to get it to work. I took a shot in the dark and ran 530_1018.EXE, copied winflash and its .sys files to another folder. put the BIOS file in the same folder. Ran a CMD prompt as administrator and typed:

    winflash.exe BIOSNAME.BIN

    IT came up without error, but it said it was an unknown version. I took a blind risk and hit flash. To my surprise it started erasing and reflashing. It verified the flash and said good. I rebooted and held my breath. It seemed to have worked.

    I installed RW - Read & Write Utility 1.3 to check for SLIC 2.1. It looks like it is there because it shows "20 01".

    Code:
    Software Licensing Description Table: 0xCFEE7440
    
    53 4C 49 43 76 01 00 00 01 21 44 45 4C 4C 20 20SLICv....!DELL  
    46 58 30 39 20 20 20 00 31 2E 30 42 41 57 52 44FX09   .1.0BAWRD
    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 9C 00 00 00 06 02 00 00................
    00 24 00 00 52 53 41 31 00 04 00 00 01 00 01 00.$..RSA1........
    7F F6 C1 05 BE 5C 57 63 A5 8A 68 F3 6E 8F 06 FA.....\Wc..h.n...
    AF B4 9F 68 82 23 EC 50 40 5A 73 7F EC E4 07 CB...h.#.P@Zs.....
    DC 25 1A 9C E3 E3 66 11 E0 A5 98 06 C5 80 0A FA.%....f.........
    42 93 86 98 E7 D5 1B D4 D7 3A A4 0B EE E2 7D BEB........:....}.
    5F 5B 15 0C AB D0 21 DE BF E9 B5 6E A4 57 B9 8C_[....!....n.W..
    0C D2 BA 3A 69 30 76 94 71 A2 64 D7 4C D8 85 BF...:i0v.q.d.L...
    DF A5 6A C8 DC 45 D5 4D 8C B8 8C 05 2F FC 2E 23..j..E.M..../..#
    C4 29 C5 6F 3F 29 6C 6D 57 79 0E B6 75 ED 21 95.).o?)lmWy..u.!.
    01 00 00 00 B6 00 00 00 00 00 02 00 44 45 4C 4C............DELL
    20 20 46 58 30 39 20 20 20 00 57 49 4E 44 4F 57  FX09   .WINDOW
    53 20 01 00 02 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00S ..............
    00 00 00 00 00 00 1B 36 64 C6 88 90 66 E6 A3 66.......6d...f..f
    EF C8 06 35 5D 83 A8 EF 55 EF 31 7E CB 1A 94 2B...5]...U.1~...+
    A3 62 B6 FA 04 8E 80 4B 94 A5 57 65 97 B3 80 92.b.....K..We....
    E2 36 68 73 03 83 A6 79 E7 9D AA F3 B9 15 A0 01.6hs...y........
    02 F5 D8 4B 11 B4 19 00 07 6F 07 79 60 A6 78 49...K.....o.y`.xI
    F1 37 20 AA 3F 40 B2 03 0B 5E D6 FB A2 72 44 4D.7 .?@...^...rDM
    45 C6 B1 DB 0C D5 1B FA B0 87 5A D0 C9 57 BE 33E.........Z..W.3
    11 19 4D 72 2F 0D A7 04 97 3A DC 9B B0 2E B5 ED..Mr/....:......
    9C 72 44 E9 02 05                              .rD...          
    According to this: http://www.mydigitallife.net/2009/0...sion-is-slp-oa-2-0-or-2-1-for-oem-activation/ I match 2.1 SLIC.

    Thanks, will try Win7 later tomorrow probably.
     
  7. Gonzakpo

    Gonzakpo MDL Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    131
    1
    10
    #8 Gonzakpo, Aug 28, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  8. whitehat2009

    whitehat2009 MDL Member

    Aug 1, 2009
    163
    2
    10
    Nice to hear that you finally got it working.
    But urie's claim that the version of AWDFLASH I referenced won't work is BS. Sorry, but there is way too much false info about that tool going around. You won't find a generic AWDFLASH on the Phoenix/Award website because instead, board manufacturers and OEMs customize it to their specifications (i.e. insert model names into the main menu). However, the core flashing function will work with ANY Award supported BIOS. Tried it myself using the ASUS tool on an ECS motherboard.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Porkrinds

    Porkrinds MDL Novice

    May 15, 2008
    25
    2
    0
    #10 Porkrinds, Aug 28, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)

    Attached Files:

  10. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    So what you didn't try it on a dell people were having trouble they were flashing them with wrong AWDFLASH and systems were not activating they needed to flash with the AWDFLASH from foxconn full stop and for your information it was another member think it was zort who found this out.
     
  11. StopExxon

    StopExxon MDL Novice

    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    #12 StopExxon, Oct 5, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I used your method - seemed to work just fine, showing 2.1 marker now. I run the orignal dell bios flash tjust to see if it would read and it said OnBoard BIOS Not Award BIOS ! Then it says Initializing and sits there and have to force close. Is this normal for a modded bios? I just wanted to see if my version number came up after doing that flash. If this isn't normal, I was going to reflash using dos method.
     
  12. StopExxon

    StopExxon MDL Novice

    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    So basically what I would like to know for people that flashed in dos, are you guys getting the same error? I wanna know if the way I flashed is any different or corrupt. Everything seems fine, just really would like to know if this is normal. I shouldn't really ever have to reflash for anything anytime soon.
     
  13. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
  14. Joe45

    Joe45 MDL Junior Member

    May 17, 2009
    74
    1
    0
    I tried making a bootable mp3 stick and it works fine, it promps me during 0.2 secons de blonking cursor then a windows 98 boot screen then the dos mode
     
  15. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
  16. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
  17. StopExxon

    StopExxon MDL Novice

    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    Hey Urie,

    Just got done making my bootable flash drive, copied your files over over. It booted from it first time. When I run dosflash.bat It gives my an error about file size doesn't match and returns to C: prompt - any ideas?