Dell Inspiron 531 SLIC 2.1 should be old news- why is it giving me so much grief?

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by pi3point1415, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. pi3point1415

    pi3point1415 MDL Novice

    Apr 14, 2010
    2
    2
    0
    I'm going in circles here- can anybody help?

    There are two SLIC 2.1 mods already out there for the Inspiron 531.
    Busykid508's mod gives me "Invalid Windows License"
    and all links to Yen's mod seem to be dead.

    I have tried the PhoenixTool 1.28, which looks amazingly simple, but it won't accept the Dell BIOS .BIN file and Dell's WinFlash executable keeps giving PhoenixTool an "Invalid Parameter !" error.

    I've seen plenty of posts that seem to indicate success with the Inspiron 531, so surely some kind soul can point me to a valid link for Yen's mod?

    By the way, am I imagining things, or is the search at this forum crazy crappy?
     
  2. marbss

    marbss MDL Novice

    Aug 23, 2009
    4
    0
    0
    bump. Is there anyone with a working Inspirion 531 slic 2.1 bios that is working.

    any help would be appreciated. Cheers,
     
  3. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
  4. slarty

    slarty MDL Novice

    Oct 31, 2009
    8
    2
    0
    Yes - I successfully modded a Dell Inspiron 531 with SLIC 2.1.

    Took a couple of tries - using the 2 methods outlined in the BIOS mods requests section.
    One method worked, the other didn't. Reports from other users have the method that failed for me working and v.v. so keep trying.
     
  5. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    So why don't you post your working bios mod ?
     
  6. slarty

    slarty MDL Novice

    Oct 31, 2009
    8
    2
    0
    Because it is already referenced in your link above (post#3 by shakeyplace) and I'm not very good at posting new links to files :eek:

    "Inspiron 531s;531
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/5l5u0u mod by Yen flash test.bin in Dos using awdflash.exe test.bin /f /py /sn /cc and http://slics.myftp.org/AWDFLASH_Asus_v1.34.rar tested by jeff69dini
    http://slics.myftp.org/Dell/DELL_Ins...ELL-1.0.13.rar mod by Busykid508"

    The one that worked for me was by Busykid508: http://slics.myftp.org/Dell/DELL_Inspiron_Desktop_531-DELL-1.0.13.rar

    The one that did not work for me was by Yen (though I have seen others who say it does work). The link in the original post to the bin fiile no longer works - so here is a link to my archived copy http://www.sendspace.com/file/23a25k
     
  7. forest2803

    forest2803 MDL Novice

    Apr 14, 2010
    5
    1
    0
    Yen flash tells you to run awdflash.exe with the following commands /f /py /sn /cc and Busykid just command /f
    Which is better?
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    #8 urie, May 18, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    @ forest2803 use /f /py /sn /cc switches i use a .bat file for my inspiron 530

    Code:
    @ECHO OFF
    awdflash.exe 713D1P53.bin /py/sn/cc
     
  9. forest2803

    forest2803 MDL Novice

    Apr 14, 2010
    5
    1
    0
    #9 forest2803, May 18, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Thanks, i'll try it out.
     
  10. forest2803

    forest2803 MDL Novice

    Apr 14, 2010
    5
    1
    0
    #10 forest2803, May 19, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I got it working with that you said /f/py/sn/cc. It didnt work with just /py/sn/cc.
     
  11. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    the /f switch is to force bios flash i didn't need that in my inspiron 530 but forgot to add it to example bat file :eek: glad you got it flashed in the end up.
     
  12. ceholland2

    ceholland2 MDL Novice

    Nov 21, 2009
    1
    4
    0
    I have both an Inspiron 531 Desktop and an Inspiron 1521 Laptop. The flashed the 1521 a few month back and decided to flash the 531 with . I stumbled on this forum and wanted to help by including some needed instructions for people like me. lol
    Files Needed
    "531_2.1.bin" in the "Modified Bios" folder in the following ".rar" and rename to "531.bin" and copy to your "BOOTABLE USB DRIVE"
    http://slics.myftp.org/Dell/DELL_Ins...ELL-1.0.13.rar mod by Busykid508
    ...also the extracted "AWDFLASH.EXE" in the following ".rar" and copy to your "BOOTABLE USB DRIVE"
    http://slics.myftp.org/AWDFLASH_Asus_v1.34.rar tested by jeff69dini
    Create a .bat file using notepad on a Windows system.
    1.Click Start
    2.Click Run
    3.Type "notepad" and press enter.
    4.Once notepad is open, type the following two lines into notepad.
    @ECHO OFF
    awdflash.exe 531.bin /f/py/sn/cc
    5.Click "File" and "Save as". Use the dropdown at bottom and select "All Files" and change name to "boot.bat" and save it to your "BOOTABLE USB DRIVE"
    Insert the "Bootable USB Drive" containing "files needed to boot (of course)" and the three files outlined above.(boot.bat, awdflash.exe, and the 531.bin) into your Inspiron 531 and run the "boot.bat". That should do it.
     
  13. esolo62

    esolo62 MDL Novice

    Jun 23, 2009
    2
    0
    0
    I lost my on board modem when I flashed my 531s. Any ideas on how to fix it or should I install a new modem. Need it for faxing.
     
  14. javilin33

    javilin33 MDL Novice

    Jun 26, 2010
    1
    0
    0
    hi. im trying to fit an am3 athlon II 250/245/240 on a 531s. is there any bios mod to add processor compatibility? anyone with an experience to share with this mobo and CPU?
     
  15. mfalx

    mfalx MDL Novice

    Jun 9, 2010
    2
    0
    0
    This got it working for my system. Seems my 531 board didnt like the flash app that's included with the busykid508 archive. Got the "Invalid Windows License" error.

    Also note that I had to put spaces inbetween the arguments for the batch file...ie awdflash.exe 531.bin /f /py /sn /cc
     
  16. sadalius

    sadalius MDL Novice

    Sep 30, 2009
    2
    0
    0
    #16 sadalius, Oct 19, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2010
    Using the information that ceholland2 I was able to flash my bios and confirm with r/w everything that it is now slic 2.1. Now I just need to get around to putting win 7 on it ;)

    I did take the liberty of putting the original firmware on my flash drive and using the same batch script that was listed, created a restore.bat so I could easily put it back to original if I needed to. I just named the slic 2.1 bios to 531_cfw.bin and the original to 531_ofw.bin, then created a file called flash.bat with this info in it:
    @ECHO OFF
    awdflash.exe 531_cfw.bin /f/py/sn/cc

    then another bat file called restore.bat with this info:
    @ECHO OFF
    awdflash.exe 531_ofw.bin /f/py/sn/cc

    Hope this helps someone out there!!
     
  17. lostdongle

    lostdongle MDL Member

    Oct 14, 2010
    208
    18
    10
    Inspiron 531 bios will not flash!


    I see there are a few of you that claim to get this bios flashed using the above mentioned method, but I have tried 10 times and all I get is an error saying "invalid windows license". If you other people supposedly got it working, then what do you think I'm doing wrong. I have followed the instructions to the "T". Thanks in advance
     
  18. thewashman

    thewashman MDL Novice

    Feb 25, 2011
    3
    0
    0
    I'm with him. I tried from 1.0.7 and get a Invalid License Error at end of flashing. I updated to Dells version of 1.0.13 and tried again and get the same message. Think it may be the keys are invalid with OEM numbers etc I don't know but would love somebody to look into it for us. Mine is a 531s.

    Thanks
     
  19. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,767
    1,727
    180
    The Invalid Windows licence error does NOT have anything to do with windows licence actually
    Read here

    And here and here there are explained solution

    Of course it is for different mobo, but award based, so same principle

    sebus
     
  20. frankhp

    frankhp MDL Novice

    Mar 29, 2011
    1
    0
    0
    Did you ever get this to work? When using 'awdflash.exe (v8.93) there is no /f option and i get 'program file does not match your system' error.
    When i use awd873.exe i get the 'invalid window license' error.
    I updated to 1.0.13 with same results.

    Any help will be appreciated.

    Thanks.