Dell laptop stuck on bios screen after being off awhile

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by mackphx, Jan 23, 2016.

  1. mackphx

    mackphx MDL Junior Member

    Sep 4, 2013
    56
    7
    0
    #1 mackphx, Jan 23, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2016
    I have a Dell latitude E6430 that will get stuck at the bios/Dell welcome screen when started after being off for more than about 10 minutes. Also, when I remove the power charger and battery, then reattach, same thing. Yet, when I shut it off then restart it again, or if restarting out of OS, no problems. The bios is updated, even tried default settings. Everything passes Dell diagnostics test and no problems showing in event viewer. Tried both 6-cell and 9-cell battery and a 90w and 130w chargers for giggles and grins. Recently upgraded to a i-7 quad processor, no change. No change whether secure boot is on or off, legacy or uefi mode. Hoping it's not the mobo. Anybody experience this problem? Please point me in the right direction. Specs: Intel core i-7 3632QM cpu, 8gb 1600mhz memory, Intel HD 4000 and Nvidia NVS 5200M graphics, 128gb SSD primary and 1TB HD secondary hard drives, Dual OS-Windows 10 pro and Backbox 4.4(ubuntu 14.10 based).
     
  2. Mutagen

    Mutagen MDL Addicted

    Feb 18, 2013
    580
    123
    30
    Slight possibility the cmos battery needs replacing. Do you have to adjust the clock? One thing makes my guess look unlikely: the Dell diagnostics test is a pass - and I know the cmos battery is checked.
     
  3. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,411
    4,213
    210
    #3 lobo11, Jan 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2016
    I have a Dell XPS (Desktop) and that happened to me, it was bad hard drive:D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Addicted

    Nov 26, 2012
    835
    277
    30
    #4 kaljukass, Jan 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2016
    It may well be that the CMOS battery, but I think that the reason is here - they do not always want to work together.
    (Dual OS-Windows 10 pro and Backbox 4.4(ubuntu 14.10 based).)
    Probably will work together with the Windows 7-8.1, but not with Windows 10.

    But this is only an opinion, have not come across this kind of thing yourself.
     
  5. mackphx

    mackphx MDL Junior Member

    Sep 4, 2013
    56
    7
    0
    Thank you for your input. Both SSD and HD are only about 4 months old and show no errors or SMART issues using HDD Guardian.
     
  6. mackphx

    mackphx MDL Junior Member

    Sep 4, 2013
    56
    7
    0
    Thank you for your input. CMOS Battery is less than a year old and the clock is always spot on. Easy enough to try other one. I'll do that tonight. Maybe I should take a closer look at the caps again while I am replacing the cmos battery. Scratching my head on this one, I should be thankful that is does eventually start and runs OK and fast for a 4 year old Dell.
     
  7. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,411
    4,213
    210
    #7 lobo11, Jan 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2016
    Do you have backup image or system restore point you could put on.:D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Amiral.Venom

    Amiral.Venom MDL Novice

    Nov 2, 2015
    9
    0
    0
    dude

    dude go to dell forum to get help they are there to help you since you have a recent pc
    :death: en.community.dell.com/support-forums
    fore me i think its one of your memory card ist défaut
    make a test its my trick to detect if one it defect
    get out alls memory card ans just put 1 and check if its dose again
    and doo its whit the others
    p.s
    a memory test (bench mark)dosent detected all errors of it ,its sucks

    sorry fore my englis im a french guy:sneaky:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,411
    4,213
    210
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,355
    1,446
    180
  11. mackphx

    mackphx MDL Junior Member

    Sep 4, 2013
    56
    7
    0
    Thanks for your input. I will try with fast boot on auto/minimal and turn off Optimus. the other settings already had turned off. I removed bumblebee from Backbox a while back, it was causing my GPU to run hot. I shall let you know of any progress. Thank you everyone that took the time to reply to my post. Much appreciated.
     
  12. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    2,651
    400
    90


    then is not the battery. run a check on HD
     
  13. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,411
    4,213
    210
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. mackphx

    mackphx MDL Junior Member

    Sep 4, 2013
    56
    7
    0
    As suggested by LatinMcG I changed the bios setting from the default thorough boot to minimal boot. This took care of the stuck post screen problem. Unfortunately, the same symptoms moved to the desktop screen. Ran verifier and the BSOD error I got=UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP_M (1000007f). Running sfc, clean image(dism), then sfc again took care of the BSOD error. Everthing seemed ok for last couple of days, then the desktop semi-freeze came back this morning. Took lobo11 advice, put copy of system image off of the SSD onto a fresh HD. Promblem gone! Benchmark SSD noticed write speed about 25% of where it should be, under warranty, RMA approved, me happy! Thanks again my friends for your time and input.
     
  15. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,411
    4,213
    210
    So I guess it was hard drive, the thing about it though is it does not have to be your main HD, it could be any you have installed on your computer.:worthy::worthy:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. MacAddict01

    MacAddict01 MDL Member

    Mar 3, 2011
    149
    20
    10
    Spot on. I've seen that so many times over the years. One drive can halt any PC from booting up.
     
  17. mackphx

    mackphx MDL Junior Member

    Sep 4, 2013
    56
    7
    0
    #17 mackphx, Feb 22, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2016
    (OP)
    Update: The initial cause that started the snowball of s#%t on my laptop was the program known as "Coretemp64". Works well on other PC's at home and work yet, it harshed on my Dell. All those hard restarts took it's toll on the SSD. I'm going to dig deeper into it, hopefully I can find and fix the "bug". It's interface I think is the best for real time sensor readings. Unfortunately, it has not been updated by it's creator in a long time.