DELL M1330 SLIC 2.1 BIOS mod flash tutorial [Many thanks to BBSC for mod]

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by nexas, Aug 1, 2009.

  1. nexas

    nexas MDL Novice

    Jan 18, 2008
    26
    12
    0
    #1 nexas, Aug 1, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Before starting you need to have USB stick (1 Gb capacity or bigger) and a possibility to boot up from it.

    Also please realize that NOBODY IS RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY FAULTS AND YOU WILL DO IT ON YOUR OWN RISK!

    1. Download modded BIOS | mirror 1 | mirror 2 | mirror 3 | mirror 4
    2. Download original BIOS from dell.com
    3. Use this tutorial to make pure DOS bootable USB stick (Thanks Tito for the new link)
    4. Extract bios.gz from modded BIOS rar archive and copy it with original BIOS file M1330A15.EXE to your already formatted DOS bootable USB.
    5. Boot from USB stick and write command M1330A15 /readgzfile, press "y" and follow instructions until your system reboot.

    That is it :) Now you have flashed BIOS with SLIC 2.1 table

    Big UP to BBSC for modded BIOS !
     
  2. jdrom17

    jdrom17 MDL Novice

    Jun 9, 2007
    31
    0
    0
    Wonderful :)

    Worked perfectly, Windows 7 RTM x64 activated.
     
  3. nexas

    nexas MDL Novice

    Jan 18, 2008
    26
    12
    0
    glad to hear ;)
     
  4. Apokrif

    Apokrif MDL Addicted

    Dec 7, 2008
    542
    34
    30
    That’s really good news!
    Who is BBSC? Can he/she/they describe header modification process, please?
     
  5. nexas

    nexas MDL Novice

    Jan 18, 2008
    26
    12
    0
    #5 nexas, Aug 2, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    BBSC :) Also try to read this thread.
     
  6. Vico

    Vico MDL Junior Member

    Jan 4, 2008
    94
    5
    0
    Link not working for me. Mirror please if possible.
     
  7. Vico

    Vico MDL Junior Member

    Jan 4, 2008
    94
    5
    0
    This only works with DELL XPS M1330 right?
     
  8. nexas

    nexas MDL Novice

    Jan 18, 2008
    26
    12
    0
    I've just updated the first post with mirrors. Good luck !
     
  9. nexas

    nexas MDL Novice

    Jan 18, 2008
    26
    12
    0
    Yes, you're right
     
  10. Apokrif

    Apokrif MDL Addicted

    Dec 7, 2008
    542
    34
    30
    #10 Apokrif, Aug 2, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  11. The Void

    The Void MDL Novice

    Jul 25, 2008
    2
    0
    0
    Thanks for posting this. Flashed my M1330 and Windows 7 is activated.
     
  12. takasuite

    takasuite MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    328
    2
    10
    thanks, finally we have something to learn, :)
     
  13. kcozart

    kcozart MDL Novice

    Aug 27, 2007
    43
    0
    0
    Dos flashing Tut by nexas

    My question is do you use the same bios.gz file when using
    the other dos flashers or does each have to have its own
    bios.gz file?
     
  14. robertz

    robertz MDL Novice

    Aug 4, 2009
    21
    0
    0
    Thank you for your sharing.
    I have made it!:)
     
  15. pei_boy

    pei_boy MDL Novice

    May 7, 2007
    46
    0
    0
    Maybe I missed it. Is the bios updated with a Dell slic table or another manufacturer?

    Thanks!!!!
     
  16. The Void

    The Void MDL Novice

    Jul 25, 2008
    2
    0
    0
    It's Dell as it should be.
     
  17. RhapsodyGuru

    RhapsodyGuru MDL Novice

    Aug 7, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    Ah... no dice. I followed the instructions to the letter, but Windows 7 doesn't want to activate. Is the OEM key in the SLIC bad?


    Guru
     
  18. techman28

    techman28 MDL Novice

    Jul 26, 2009
    40
    0
    0
    Will this work with Dell Inspiron E1505, with its respective modded files and stuff. I mean will the same process work with its own e1505 files?

    Thanks.
     
  19. sdusniper

    sdusniper MDL Novice

    Aug 9, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    #19 sdusniper, Aug 9, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2009
    i cant update my bios, got an error msg

    cannot run under a protected environment
    ROM update not performed.

    can anyone help? Thanks
     
  20. ballantines

    ballantines MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    0
    0
    It's possible using this modded bios on A02 bios too?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...