Dell SLIC 2.1 D410 D610 "Program Access Denied" Error Fixed

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by d1001541, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. d1001541

    d1001541 MDL Novice

    Feb 22, 2010
    12
    8
    0
    #1 d1001541, Jun 14, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2010
    Have found that a D410 and D610 SLIC BIOS created using Phoenix tool with a RW report won't work in Windows Vista or 7. You get "Program Access Denied". Before anyone posts run as admin etc. it doesn't work I have tried everything. I had updated BIOS whilst XP was installed but now have worked out a workaround. If you create an updated BIOS using Phoenix tool then extract BIOS header (hdr file) using ?.exe -writehdrfile you can then create a BIOS exe that works with Windows 7 using the Dell Client Configuration Utility DCCU. Just install on any machine then create BIOS file from extracted hdr file (save file when prompted DO NOT run unless on actual machine)

    I have created a D410 and D610 updated SLIC 2.1 BIOS that will run under Windows 7. Links are below:

    Still not allowed to post links so www and http have spaces in.

    Please note this update will reboot machine with no warning after 1/2 mins then update BIOS and leave output logs in location file was executed from.

    DCCU
    ht tp://support.dell.com/support/downloads/download.aspx?releaseid=R200703&deviceid=19801&fileid=278576

    D410 & D610 SLIC 2.1 BIOS:
    ht tp://ww w.zshare.net/download/772306109cec82a3/
     
  2. jason_lodly

    jason_lodly MDL Novice

    Mar 6, 2009
    23
    0
    0
    Anybody able to verify this BIOS would work?? Thanks.
     
  3. Borrowedwifi

    Borrowedwifi MDL Novice

    Jun 9, 2010
    17
    11
    0
    #3 Borrowedwifi, Jul 17, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2010
    Installed it yesterday on a Latitude D610 and it worked like a charm.

    Had the executable file on a memory stick and ran it from inside Windows XP which was running on the machine. I opened the relevant directory and double-clicked on the file to run it. It immediately extracted a list of new files into the directory, and then sat there for a while, apparently doing nothing at all.

    This went on for a couple of minutes, and was long enough to cause me to wonder about clicking some of what had been extracted, as nothing at all looked to be going on and I was getting antsy, waiting around, doing nothing. And then all of a sudden, the machine went into reboot, and came back up in a perfectly normal reboot to the standard XP opening desktop. Again, no indication that anything had happened at all.

    Once the boot was complete, I ran Everest, and sure enough, it reported SLIC 2.1 in my BIOS.

    Took a Dell Win7 Pro bootable memory stick (the Dell Win7 installation .iso extracts just a bit too large for a normal DVD, so I put it on a bootable 8gig stick) and popped it into the drive, rebooted, hit F12, told it to boot from the USB device, and did a fresh install, and it worked PERFECTLY. All nice and validated, running as smooth as silk.

    Prior to installing Win7, I copied the Dell directory from the XP root directory, and saved it to the memory stick as well. Once Win7 was running, I went into the device manager and found three items showing as not properly installed, and updated each one by pointing the driver update wizard to the Dell directory (which contains drivers for the original XP installation) and letting it figure things out from there, which it did just fine, with all three items. All three installed and had good functionality with no installation errors running under Win7.

    Although the machine was now complete, with working drivers for all components including wifi, the touchpad had no scroll function and I did some digging around and found this thread on the Dell forums: htt p://en.community.dell.c om/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/t/18695126.aspx (note the spaces in that url which you must remove, I'm still a newb and it won't let me post links yet)

    Dell has no Win7 support for the Latitude D610, but there is a VISTA touchpad driver for the D620 (please note the "2" in there, it's a different machine), and I downloaded it and it worked perfectly under Win7. Complete touchpad functionality with all features fully enabled and working.

    Just for completeness, I then ran Windows Update, and it found a few updates for hardware drivers that were already installed and working, including one to permit the card-reader to handle large-capacity memory cards. I have not tested this yet, but it installed successfully without complaint, and I have no reason to doubt that it works just fine.

    Following that, just to keep the machine from working too hard (one gig of memory), I reset things to use the Windows Classic interface and in the Advanced Settings, I reset everything for "Best Performance" and made all the Win7 eye candy disappear. You may or may not want to do anything along these lines, but I like my machines to be responsive more than I like them to look pretty, and following a few other performance tweaks, the machine now seems to run faster under Win7 than it did under XP. Your own results will, of course, be somewhat different, no doubt.

    In closing, please allow me to take this occasion to offer thanks and kudos to d1001541 for doing such a wonderful job of modding the BIOS for this machine.

    Job well done!
     
  4. d1001541

    d1001541 MDL Novice

    Feb 22, 2010
    12
    8
    0
    Glad it worked, I did say it takes 1-2 mins and looks like it is doing nothing.
     
  5. Netbanshee

    Netbanshee MDL Junior Member

    Dec 26, 2009
    69
    15
    0
    Updated my D610 with the modded Bios. Win7 Ultimate installed and is fully activated. Lappy is now Win7 Happy.
     
  6. mbmalone

    mbmalone MDL Member

    Sep 24, 2007
    109
    5
    10
    The DELL Latitude D610 SLIC 2.1 BIOS MOD by d1001541 worked very well for me.
    Thank you ...

     
  7. TequilaWarrior

    TequilaWarrior MDL Novice

    Jan 15, 2010
    3
    0
    0
    Having some issues with this BIOS with 7 Ultimate retail CD. Using opatool to install DELL certificate and 7 ultimate key - 7 still says not activated. Am I missing something?
     
  8. mbmalone

    mbmalone MDL Member

    Sep 24, 2007
    109
    5
    10
    TequilaWarrior, you need to run a program to verify that you now have SLIC 2.1 in your bios. If not, try it again.
    Use the SLIC Toolkit 3.2
     
  9. blackranger

    blackranger MDL Senior Member

    Dec 28, 2009
    453
    30
    10
    #9 blackranger, Aug 26, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    TW, to activate via OEM channel, you must be sure to have 3 things before activation.
    as mbmalone said, you first need a SLIC 2.1 in BIOS which is the same brand as your BIOS (should be).
    If you have no SLIC 2.1 please mod it carefully (request / find ur modded bios in the BIOS Mod section)
    Then you can insert certificate and Win7 OEM:SLP key (should match with the Win7 edition you're using), using two simple commands,
    Code:
    slmgr -ilc C:\___name___.xrm-ms
    (place the cert in C:\)
    Code:
    slmgr -ipk __________SLP_key_here_________
    And that's it, 7 is immediately activated.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. TequilaWarrior

    TequilaWarrior MDL Novice

    Jan 15, 2010
    3
    0
    0
    mbmalone & blackranger,
    Thanks for the replies. I've tried using a phoenixtool modded bios for this d610 - as well as the d610 bios from d1001541. However, RWEverything still cannot find a SLIC table. I'm at a loss here. I'm also having a bear of a time finding a SLIC Toolkit 3.2 (that's not hosted at a virus haven).
     
  11. blackranger

    blackranger MDL Senior Member

    Dec 28, 2009
    453
    30
    10
    #11 blackranger, Aug 26, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. mbmalone

    mbmalone MDL Member

    Sep 24, 2007
    109
    5
    10
    The D610 SLIC 2.1 Bios Rocks! I only had a bit of trouble with the D600, but it could have been user error.
    The D600 uses a different bios.
     
  13. TequilaWarrior

    TequilaWarrior MDL Novice

    Jan 15, 2010
    3
    0
    0
    blackranger,
    SLIC Tookit reports "Dump Error! (SLIC Table not found ! )" after trying the D610 SLIC 2.1 bios (several times). However, when I look at the memory access tab, I see the 20 01 00 02 in the hex table indicating SLIC2.1. I have reflashed to DELL provided A06 BIOS - SLIC Toolkit reports "Dump Error" and memory access tab I don't see 20 01 00 02 (everything is different). This machine REFUSES to take a SLIC table.
     
  14. acidnine822

    acidnine822 MDL Novice

    Oct 31, 2010
    1
    0
    0
    got a fix yet for the machine that refuses the slic2.1?
     
  15. Mezar

    Mezar MDL Novice

    Jul 2, 2010
    1
    0
    0
    Make sure that in the BIOS settings the "minimal" boot is set, not "auto".
     
  16. Netbanshee

    Netbanshee MDL Junior Member

    Dec 26, 2009
    69
    15
    0
    #16 Netbanshee, Jun 22, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
    Dell D610 with ATI graphics

    I recently acquired another D610. This one has ATI x300 graphics. Will this modded Bios work for this machine as well?

    Update: Yes it works, same bios update file.
     
  17. Offsprung

    Offsprung MDL Junior Member

    Feb 12, 2011
    52
    12
    0
    It appears to be removed from zshare and multi was seized, anyone got an a06 good d/l location?
     
  18. d1001541

    d1001541 MDL Novice

    Feb 22, 2010
    12
    8
    0
    ht tp://ww w.zshare.net/download/9948529904c4bf64/
    Have had to put spaces in http and www as I still can't post links.
     
  19. vasilcho

    vasilcho MDL Novice

    Feb 4, 2013
    1
    0
    0

    I know “Dell SLIC 2.1 D410 D610 "Program Access Denied" Error
    Fixed” is a bit old thread, but I have wondered – could you re-upload the Latitude
    D410 moded BIOS as the download links are dead. It will be very much appreciated!
    Thanks.
     
  20. erpsterm35

    erpsterm35 MDL Member

    May 27, 2013
    100
    22
    10
    #20 erpsterm35, Jun 6, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2013
    hi vasilcho. try getting the modded A6 BIOS for the Dell D610 laptop from here:
    ht tp://w ww.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread-DELL-LATITUDE-D610-A06-SLIC-2-1

    for Dell latitude D410 the latest BIOS is A05, not A06. I know because I've used one of my relative's Dell D410 laptop a few years ago.
    a modded A05 BIOS for D410 can be found here:
    ht tp://w ww.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread-Dell-D410

    better to use the modded bios files from bios-mods.com as they're far more reliable.