Dell XPS with modified SLP

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by paddya99, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. paddya99

    paddya99 MDL Novice

    Sep 17, 2009
    23
    0
    0
    I modified my laptop here sometime ago and been successfully running Windows 7. However following an update this morning with KB971033, it's now telling me that it's not valid.

    Has anyone else experienced this or got suggestions by any chance?

    Thanks
     
  2. tcntad

    tcntad MDL Guru

    Oct 26, 2009
    4,104
    1,303
    150
    By any chance. have you forgotten to read the sticky threads ?
     
  3. Doctor

    Doctor MDL Novice

    Oct 11, 2009
    32
    2
    0
    Is it a Dell SLIC in your BIOS?
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,719
    3,086
    300
    Change you serial number from blacklisted one to another.
     
  5. ailef

    ailef MDL Senior Member

    Nov 30, 2007
    297
    14
    10
    what is the model of you dell xps ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. paddya99

    paddya99 MDL Novice

    Sep 17, 2009
    23
    0
    0
    It's a XPS M1710. What's the best way of changing the serial number. Do I need to change something via a loader?

    As far as I'm aware it is a Dell SLIC
     
  7. paddya99

    paddya99 MDL Novice

    Sep 17, 2009
    23
    0
    0
    ok ran Daz's loader and all seems to be ok. It warned me that it wasn't genuine but as soon as I went to msoft site it told me that it's successfully validated
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,719
    3,086
    300
    Did you just use the loader to install dell key and certificate ? or actually install the loader ?
     
  9. paddya99

    paddya99 MDL Novice

    Sep 17, 2009
    23
    0
    0
    ran the loader, clicked on uninstall rebooted, then install
     
  10. ailef

    ailef MDL Senior Member

    Nov 30, 2007
    297
    14
    10
    #10 ailef, Jul 14, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2010
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,719
    3,086
    300
  12. ailef

    ailef MDL Senior Member

    Nov 30, 2007
    297
    14
    10
    yes he used the daz loader but the best way to forget windows 7 activation is to install a bios with the slic 2.1.
    i used slic 2.0 with vista and had never any problem on all the machines i installed a modded bios on.
    same with windows 7, but you can have random bugs with loaders and crashes and MS can always find a way to defeat loaders.
    so anyone that is able to mod his bios to slic 2.1 should use this method instead of loaders, people are maybe afraid to break their motherboards but since vista i never broke any motherboard on all the machines i modded.
    people that coded tools to mod the bioses did a great job and it's so simple to mod a bios with the tools they made.
    and anyway you can find modded bioses on the forum.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,719
    3,086
    300
    @ ailef, paddya99 said
    to me that reads he has modded the bios. His problem only started after installing KB971033 it says it is not valid that is why i said change the windows 7 key he was probably using the blacklisted Levono key.
     
  14. ailef

    ailef MDL Senior Member

    Nov 30, 2007
    297
    14
    10
    ah ok, yes he certainly didnt use the dell key with the dell slic.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. paddya99

    paddya99 MDL Novice

    Sep 17, 2009
    23
    0
    0
    I honestly can't remember what key I used. With regards the BIOS, I opened it up and modified it with the RW-Everything program and altered the characters to reflect 2.1.

    Is what I done with the loader ok then? I'm assuming that has reset my system with the key from the ini file using the Dell SLIC/Certificate/Serial
     
  16. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,719
    3,086
    300
    what do you mean did you use one of the bios modding tools, i,e, Awardtool, AMitool, or Pheonixtool then load RW report and mod your bios, after that did you flash your bios with modded one. Can you uninstall Daz loader and run SLIC-DUMP-ToolKit-x86-x64-(Includes-PKey-amp-Cert.-Backup) and post screen shots please.
     
  17. paddya99

    paddya99 MDL Novice

    Sep 17, 2009
    23
    0
    0
    nope I just ran RW and modified
     
  18. paddya99

    paddya99 MDL Novice

    Sep 17, 2009
    23
    0
    0
    just checked validation again and it's still ok
     
  19. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,719
    3,086
    300
    RW can not mod your bios it must be the loader that is adding SLIC. So you do not have modded bios.
     
  20. paddya99

    paddya99 MDL Novice

    Sep 17, 2009
    23
    0
    0
    I know I modified the string something. Just uninstalled the loader, telling me it's not genuine and, trying to post screen shots but even at 600px it's telling me they are too big.

    Advanced
    SLIC Version 2.1, PubKey and Marker DELL M09
    BIOS Dell Inc Version A07, Date 06/27/2007, Phoenix Bios /ACPI 1.0

    Anything else need to know?