Digital signing of Hitachi microdriver

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by win8togo, Oct 17, 2012.

1. win8togo

win8togo MDL Novice

Oct 17, 2012
    Hi all,

In addition to discussion on thread "Running Windows from an external USB drive with Windows To Go"

I would like to thank 100 once again for recompiling Hitachi microdriver for use on x64 systems!

As you can see from my post, I was trying to digitally sign that driver but from some reason I was unsuccessful.

I can't post links but just google "Sign your unsigned drivers damn it" and "Signed driver walktrough" and technet for "Steps for Signing a Device Driver Package" and you will find procedures I used to try to digitally sign this driver.

I'm no programmer so I have no clue on how to troubleshoot cause of signing errors or edit, decompile and recompile any of the files in microdriver folder.

Any help in making this work would be greatly appreciated!

I really don't know if I'm on the right track or not but only thing that I was able to notice is that after installation of the driver, there is cfadisk.sys in c:\windows\system32\drivers folder and in 100's microdriver folder there are cfadisk32.sys and 64.sys

Following above mentioned procedures some stated that signing only .cat file is enough and some stated that signing only .sys files is enough.
    I've tried everything including signing everything and still no go, c:\windows\system32\drivers\cfadisk.sys still doesn't have a valid sign.

I have tried with .cat from 100's microdriver folder and to create new one with inf2cat.exe

I have tried this on Windows 7 x64 and on a virtual Windows 8 x64

I'm sure that many would benefit from this so Windows 8 To Go could be installed on almost any USB drive with enough capacity.

I hope that someone versed in creating drivers could find time to check this out.

Best regards,
    Walter

2. Mr Jinje

Mr Jinje MDL Expert

Aug 19, 2009
    Where do I get your signed version of the hitachi driver from ?