Disable Defender in Creator's Update Build 15058 onwards?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by d5aqoëp, Mar 16, 2017.

  1. d5aqoëp

    d5aqoëp MDL Member

    Jan 19, 2017
    101
    60
    10
    My previous reg tweak does not disable Defender in build 15058. Any new tweak I should be aware of?
     
  2. farukkaraca

    farukkaraca MDL Member

    Sep 27, 2009
    171
    96
    10
    Yes ,the same problem for me. Previous registry tweaks for disabling Defender cannot disable Defender anymore in RS2 release.
    Does anyone have a solution for this ?
     
  3. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,444
    871
    120
    Hmm maybe use MSMG toolit to remove defender from the iso before you install or upgrade ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. farukkaraca

    farukkaraca MDL Member

    Sep 27, 2009
    171
    96
    10
    #4 farukkaraca, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2017
    Thank you endbase ;
    Actually , i know that solution but i dont want to use MSMG for only removing Defender. A reg tweak could be better for me than removing Defender by MSMG Toolkit
     
  5. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,642
    1,922
    210
    I use Windows Defender Control 1.2 since ?January and it still works well, for me!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. hb860

    hb860 MDL Addicted

    May 7, 2010
    986
    1,760
    30
    #6 hb860, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    12,435
    13,512
    340
    Last time i checked, murphy78's disable Defender script also still worked.
     
  8. Katzenfreund

    Katzenfreund MDL Expert

    Jul 15, 2016
    1,337
    772
    60
    If you install a third party AV, Defender will disable itself on its own.
     
  9. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,642
    1,922
    210
    True! Just, I use to run the AV for all my computers behind a Smoothwall Firewall Router, which simply means, I didn't need to run such apps on any computer in the same Network.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. iFlaX

    iFlaX MDL Member

    Apr 10, 2015
    124
    46
    10
    You can easily disable Windows Defender in Group Policy.
     
  11. Feniksrising

    Feniksrising MDL Junior Member

    Nov 27, 2016
    61
    16
    0
    Isn't there a group policy setting that does this? Or did they change that too?
     
  12. Nucleus

    Nucleus MDL Guru

    Aug 4, 2009
    2,887
    2,926
    90
    #12 Nucleus, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Group Policy (gpedit.msc)

    Code:
    Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Windows Defender > Disable Defender > Enabled
    This doesn't work anymore?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. farukkaraca

    farukkaraca MDL Member

    Sep 27, 2009
    171
    96
    10
    I dont know if it works or not Nucleus
    I never used gpedit.msc for disabling defender. I use a reg tweak for disabling defender in setupcomplete.cmd for an unattended install of windows
     
  14. iFlaX

    iFlaX MDL Member

    Apr 10, 2015
    124
    46
    10
    #14 iFlaX, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    It works perfectly fine.
     
  15. Nucleus

    Nucleus MDL Guru

    Aug 4, 2009
    2,887
    2,926
    90
    #15 Nucleus, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. farukkaraca

    farukkaraca MDL Member

    Sep 27, 2009
    171
    96
    10
  17. Nucleus

    Nucleus MDL Guru

    Aug 4, 2009
    2,887
    2,926
    90
    #17 Nucleus, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    No idea, never seen that - I use Nod32. I assume it would indicate a problem with Windows Defender - requires your attention. Having a Google about it...

    Edit:

    Code:
    Task Manager > Startup > Windows Defender Notification Icon > Disabled > Reboot
    Does that get rid of the icon?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,444
    871
    120

    Disable security notifications in your settings :tea: just an quick thought ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. farukkaraca

    farukkaraca MDL Member

    Sep 27, 2009
    171
    96
    10
    Do you mean Windows defender settings ?

    If so , i couldnt find any "Disable Security Notifications" in defender settings
     
  20. Nucleus

    Nucleus MDL Guru

    Aug 4, 2009
    2,887
    2,926
    90
    @ farukkaraca - Post above updated - does that cure it?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...