[DISCUSSION] Windows 10 Final Build 19041/2/3 (PC) [20H1/2 / 21H1 vb_release]

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Enthousiast, Dec 10, 2019.

  1. donmiller

    donmiller MDL Senior Member

    Jun 4, 2016
    428
    232
    10
    #5781 donmiller, Dec 8, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2020

    It's not the 11th century, it's the 21st century. It's not about policy, it's about marketing.

    How about I sell you a car that has an eight cylinder engine. But only the first four cylinders are working. You come back to the dealership and say your car seems pretty gutless. I tell you that if you want more power, I can sell you a different car key to activate another two cylinders. So I sell you a different car key and now you have six cylinders working. You come back and want more power. So I sell you another car key so that all eight cylinders are firing. But the car's engine had eight cylinders the whole time! That's marketing, not policy.
     
  2. bouloss

    bouloss MDL Novice

    Jan 12, 2008
    30
    5
    0
    661 corrupt net framework 3.5, even if you uninstall and reinstall net 3.5 the system is still corrupt, to fix the problem i had to do windows in place upgrade keeping documents and apps, but after a couple of days i uninstall "CleanMyPc" app and i lost boot, i have uninstall this app many times before never lost boot, best to do a clean install if you did upgrade to 661
     
  3. SAM-R

    SAM-R MDL Guru

    Mar 21, 2015
    4,526
    3,994
    150
    If you have a modern V-8 you can actually be running on 4 cylinders at any given time.
     
  4. donmiller

    donmiller MDL Senior Member

    Jun 4, 2016
    428
    232
    10
    I've got a horse that moves on two hooves most of the time, especially when he's galloping. I've told the horse he's off topic but he just keeps on going. :offtopic:
    :horse:
     
  5. SAM-R

    SAM-R MDL Guru

    Mar 21, 2015
    4,526
    3,994
    150
    How about I sell you a car that has an eight cylinder engine. But only the first four cylinders are working.
    Who's off Topic
     
  6. donmiller

    donmiller MDL Senior Member

    Jun 4, 2016
    428
    232
    10
    #5786 donmiller, Dec 9, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2020
    I've been slightly off topic. I've already got such a car, but thanks for the offer.

    Try to connect the dots.

    As for Windows, I remember when I had a laptop with Windows 7 Home Premium. I installed a different product key and within seconds, it was Windows 7 Pro. The expense for the new product key didn't seem justified at the time. It felt like someone was "laughing all the way to the bank." That sort of thing has continued with successive versions of Windows, up to and including the latest Windows 10 editions (e.g. 19042.XXX). Embedding features (or editions) in a Windows distribution, and activating the edition or features by product key injection, or enablement package, feels like one has paid for a V8 only to have some cylinders lie dormant until someone decides to provide a "master switch" to turn on the edition or features. I consider this an ethically questionable marketing strategy.
     
  7. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    34,443
    56,640
    450
    Slightly?
    The key that can be used is a oem:slp key. On Win 7 valid slic activated systems you can freely use the oem:slp keys from the keys.ini (part of Daz loader) file at Anytime Upgrade and it will "upgrade" to the version the key was meant for and the activation still was 100% genuine.

    oem:slp keys were collected and shared here on mdl from the beginning.

    On 7 you could add features by using anytime upgrade using a oem:slp key, on 8.x this was somewhat limited and now on 10 you can upgrade from home(sl) to all other consumer and business skus, adding some administrative options, not really new features.

    And now msft found a way to fake a new build with the use of the 19H2 EP and 20H2 EP and to enable a few new features and this time they packed Edge Chromium in it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    3,961
    872
    120
    no issues so far running .685
     
  9. shhnedo

    shhnedo MDL Addicted

    Mar 20, 2011
    874
    1,185
    30
    I'm probably missing something but is there a way to prevent annoying Edge from popping up on my desktop every time I install an update?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. donmiller

    donmiller MDL Senior Member

    Jun 4, 2016
    428
    232
    10
    Prior to Win 7, I had little interest in activation issues with Windows. It was Daz loader that initially triggered my interest in MDL. I used Daz loader as you suggested during the Win 7 era. Now we are in the Window 10 era, and it's this business of "faking new builds" that has caught my attention. For whatever reason, using EPs annoys me. 'Not sure why. It's how MSFT has chosen to do things lately, and I'll have accept it for now.
     
  11. SM03

    SM03 MDL Expert

    Dec 16, 2012
    1,009
    506
    60
    uninstall using Revo uninstaller pro
     
  12. TECHNOMAN

    TECHNOMAN MDL Senior Member

    Jan 19, 2009
    294
    207
    10
    when doing clean install of 19042.631 then update via windows update to 685
    I notice that when right clicking This pc on the desktop & clicking on properties that the icon you would normally see for your oem say Dell/HP/Acer does not show this also happens on a system that is upgraded

    Is this correct If so Ok

    Or is there a way to add the oem information
     
  13. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    34,443
    56,640
    450
    #5793 Enthousiast, Dec 9, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2020
    (OP)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. TECHNOMAN

    TECHNOMAN MDL Senior Member

    Jan 19, 2009
    294
    207
    10
    Thanks I understand
    But when did this change
     
  15. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    34,443
    56,640
    450
    With 20H2, or it was a certain few CUs back.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. scaramonga

    scaramonga MDL Member

    Oct 27, 2012
    243
    117
    10
    Hello.

    Strange one this, and I'm unsure if its a Windows problem, or something broken due to removing something beforehand?, so I would be most grateful for any help.

    1. Sketch and Snip loads but does not work, i.e, no snips can be taken. Screen just sits there and closes after 10 secs or so?

    2. At every boot, I'm asked to sign in as 'other user', despite myself being the only local account on the system? Irritating.

    Any ideas guys?
     
  17. petok

    petok MDL Senior Member

    May 4, 2009
    286
    173
    10
    #5797 petok, Dec 11, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2020
    .
     
  18. WhiteDeath1313

    WhiteDeath1313 MDL Member

    Aug 25, 2018
    113
    206
    10
    hey guys did anyone got this in wu:A-Volute - SoftwareComponent - 3.1.0.0 what is that and i should install it or just leave it? thanks
     
  19. WhiteDeath1313

    WhiteDeath1313 MDL Member

    Aug 25, 2018
    113
    206
    10
    thanks buddy.