[DISCUSSION] Windows 8 Consumer Preview Build 8250

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Windows4live, Feb 18, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Windows4live

    Windows4live MDL Addicted

    Jan 31, 2011
    976
    462
    30
    #1 Windows4live, Feb 18, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 2, 2012
  2. Fraggy

    Fraggy MDL Addicted

    Jun 13, 2011
    734
    389
    30
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kyeahy

    kyeahy MDL Junior Member

    Apr 1, 2011
    69
    18
    0
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. xscess

    xscess MDL Senior Member

    Jul 27, 2009
    302
    343
    10
  5. fardeen

    fardeen MDL Member

    May 11, 2010
    182
    10
    10
    can someone confirm if intel quick sync is working again in windows 8?? for some reason my apps that require it cannot recognise hardware decoding
     
  6. beBoss

    beBoss MDL Junior Member

    Apr 21, 2011
    99
    13
    0
    Can be installed over windows 7 (upgrade) ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Stimpy88

    Stimpy88 MDL Member

    Mar 24, 2011
    140
    84
    10
    VirtualBox 4.1.8 seems to have big problems with this. I'm getting random lockups in the VM. Only way out is to force a shutdown of the VM :-(
     
  8. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,499
    15,289
    340
    #8 Tito, Feb 29, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
    This is from MS FAQ:

    Yes, you can upgrade to Windows 8 Consumer Preview from Windows Developer Preview, Windows 7,Windows Vista, or Windows XP, but you might not be able to keep all of your files, programs, and settings. The following table shows what you can keep during an upgrade depending on the current version of Windows running on your PC:
    [TH="bgcolor: #DAF3FD"]Current operating system[/TH] [TH="bgcolor: #DAF3FD"]What you can keep[/TH]
    Windows Developer Preview
    • User accounts and files
    Windows 7
    • Programs
    • Windows settings
    • User accounts and files
    Windows Vista
    • Windows settings
    • User accounts and files
    Windows XP
    • User accounts and files
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. poedoom

    poedoom MDL Junior Member

    Sep 15, 2007
    67
    0
    0
    installed it off usb stick, seems to have all the drivers in the box but I cant for the life of me get amd ccc to work even with netframework 3.5 enabled, I just don't know whats going on also mouse pointer on desktop keeps freezing my rig just don't like it 1 bit.
     
  10. xscess

    xscess MDL Senior Member

    Jul 27, 2009
    302
    343
    10
    If i'm not missing anything, there's no option to "Safely Remove Hardware" (to remove flash drive etc) in Metro mode, so you must switch to Desktop mode.
     
  11. Rickkins

    Rickkins MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    284
    53
    10
    Can 8 be installed over 7 as a dual boot...??

    Ifso, how..??
    Thanks.
     
  12. xscess

    xscess MDL Senior Member

    Jul 27, 2009
    302
    343
    10
    #13 xscess, Feb 29, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
    to reply quickly: is your hard disk partitioned already? Meaning how many partitions you have now?

    EDIT: [First BACKUP your data/important files so if something goes wrong you don't loose anything.] If you HD have two partitions already and assuming you have Windows 7 installed on a first partition, yes you can install W8 CP on 2nd partition. Have installed W8 Dev Preview in dual boot scenario, and after installation W8DP will present options to boot either one every time you reboot the PC.
     
  13. feelagroove

    feelagroove MDL Novice

    Aug 21, 2010
    15
    2
    0
    Why get rid of the start button when you go to the same spot to hover and launch it anyway? Why is the multi monitor support for Windows products so bad (same icons on each taskbar, can't have different images per desktop, can't dock the start screen on one monitor, can't use aero snap on corner of each monitor)? Why does the explorer ribbon look like it's from 1996 and the metro UI looks current? I'm 15 minutes in and all I have are questions :)
     
  14. Rickkins

    Rickkins MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    284
    53
    10
    No partitions, but 5 harddrives.
     
  15. Shenj

    Shenj MDL Expert

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,557
    652
    60
    Why keep the start button when you go to the same spot to hover and launch it anyway? .... :wallbash: :wallbash: :wallbash:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. xscess

    xscess MDL Senior Member

    Jul 27, 2009
    302
    343
    10
    Sorry haven't tried on second HD yet but at the installation if it let you install on 2nd HD(it used to be that Windows won't install on 2nd HD, don't know if it's still same with W8CP), it would work same as I mentioned in earlier post #13.
     
  17. Brainsuck

    Brainsuck MDL Addicted

    Oct 9, 2009
    666
    156
    30
    where for art thou start button
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. feelagroove

    feelagroove MDL Novice

    Aug 21, 2010
    15
    2
    0
    Because it's easier to click a button that's on the screen than hover over a corner to get a button to appear that you then click on? I think they probably want everyone to get retrained and look for the windows button on the keyboard so you'll know to do that on a mobile device, but still...
     
  19. chevell

    chevell MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    37
    2
    0
    #20 chevell, Feb 29, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
    It will install on a second hard drive but you may need to set the target Windows 8 HDD in first SATA slot which is where the boot drive should be.