DISM error only under Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by fredpsycho83, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. fredpsycho83

    fredpsycho83 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    57
    54
    0
    #1 fredpsycho83, Oct 11, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    hello all

    i have done some batch to create an unattend based on Windows 7, they use DISM, ImageX, and OSCDIMG.
    all my command work properly, and i have done a Windows 7 una DVD that i have installed on my PC.

    but ... here is the deal : under Vista SP2, all my batch worked properly, but in windows 7, i have DISM error.

    for example, i mount a wim file using the old imagex (i have tried with the new too), works ok, but when i use the driver or update integration command, it doesnt work with an error : dism is corrupt, try to reinstall etc ...

    here is a copy of the complete command line with the result on screen :

    Code:
    c:\dismtool2\cmd\imagex.exe /mountrw c:\dismtool2\dvd\sources\install.wim 1 c:\dismtool2\mount
    
    ImageX Tool for Windows
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp. All rights reserved.
    
    Mounting (RW): [c:\dismtool2\dvd\sources\install.wim, 1] ->
                   [c:\dismtool2\mount]
    
    Successfully mounted image (RW).
    Code:
    c:\dismtool2\cmd\install_wim_tweak.exe /p c:\dismtool2\mount /m
    
    -------------------------------------------
    ------Pre-install registry Tweak Tool------
    ---------------for Windows 6.x-------------
    -------------------------------------------
    Processing : c:\dismtool2\mount
    Creating BKP of registry file...         OK
    Mounting registry file...                OK
    Enabilng taking ownership...             OK
    Editing 'Packages' subkeys 364/364       OK
    Editing 'PackagesPending' subkeys 364/364OK
    Modyfing registry completed sucessfully.
    -------------------Ending------------------
    Unmounting key...                        OK
    Removing BKP file...                     OK
    Code:
    c:\dismtool2\cmd\dism.exe /image:c:\dismtool2\mount /add-package /packagepath:c:\dismtool2\updates
    
    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 6.1.7600.16385
    
    Error: 0xc150003a
    
    An error occurred while loading DISM. The DISM tool may be corrupt.
    Try reinstalling DISM.
    
    The DISM log file can be found at C:\Windows\Logs\DISM\dism.log
    as you can see, i have a copy of DISM in my c:\dismtool2\cmd folder, but if i use the path of the original dism of windows 7 in c:\windows\system32\dism, i have got the same error.

    i have also tried to mount the wim using dism command, its works, but the Pre-install registry Tweak Tool doesn't work on a dism-mounted wim, only on an old imagex-mounted wim ...

    like i said, it works 100% properly on Vista, so why on Windows 7 my dism get corrupt ? anyone have this problem ?



    here is the dism.log report :
    Code:
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: <----- Starting Dism.exe session ----->
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: 
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: Host machine information: OS Version=6.1.7600, Running architecture=x86, Number of processors=4
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: Executing command line: c:\dismtool2\cmd\dism.exe  /image:c:\dismtool2\mount /add-package /packagepath:c:\dismtool2\updates
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM Provider Store: PID=1908 Getting the collection of providers from a local provider store type. - CDISMProviderStore::GetProviderCollection
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM Provider Store: PID=1908 Provider has not previously been encountered.  Attempting to initialize the provider. - CDISMProviderStore::Internal_GetProvider
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM Provider Store: PID=1908 Loading Provider from location c:\dismtool2\cmd\WimProvider.dll - CDISMProviderStore::Internal_GetProvider
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM Provider Store: PID=1908 Connecting to the provider located at c:\dismtool2\cmd\WimProvider.dll. - CDISMProviderStore::Internal_LoadProvider
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM Provider Store: PID=1908 Provider has not previously been encountered.  Attempting to initialize the provider. - CDISMProviderStore::Internal_GetProvider
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM Provider Store: PID=1908 Loading Provider from location c:\dismtool2\cmd\FolderProvider.dll - CDISMProviderStore::Internal_GetProvider
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM Provider Store: PID=1908 Connecting to the provider located at c:\dismtool2\cmd\FolderProvider.dll. - CDISMProviderStore::Internal_LoadProvider
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM Provider Store: PID=1908 Provider has not previously been encountered.  Attempting to initialize the provider. - CDISMProviderStore::Internal_GetProvider
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM Provider Store: PID=1908 Loading Provider from location c:\dismtool2\cmd\CompatProvider.dll - CDISMProviderStore::Internal_GetProvider
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM Provider Store: PID=1908 Connecting to the provider located at c:\dismtool2\cmd\CompatProvider.dll. - CDISMProviderStore::Internal_LoadProvider
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: Got the collection of providers. Now enumerating them to build the command table.
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: Attempting to add the commands from provider: WimManager
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: Succesfully registered commands for the provider: WimManager.
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: Attempting to add the commands from provider: FolderManager
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: Attempting to add the commands from provider: DISM Log Provider
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: Attempting to add the commands from provider: Compatibility Manager
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: Succesfully registered commands for the provider: Compatibility Manager.
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM Provider Store: PID=1908 Getting the collection of providers from a local provider store type. - CDISMProviderStore::GetProviderCollection
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Error                 DISM   DISM WIM Provider: PID=1908 d:\w7rtm\base\ntsetup\opktools\dism\providers\wimprovider\dll\wimmountedimageinfo.cpp:317 - CWimMountedImageInfo::Initialize(hr:0x80070057)
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Error                 DISM   DISM WIM Provider: PID=1908 d:\w7rtm\base\ntsetup\opktools\dism\providers\wimprovider\dll\wimmountedimageinfo.cpp:94 - CWimMountedImageInfo::CreateWimMountedImageInfo(hr:0x80070057)
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Error                 DISM   DISM WIM Provider: PID=1908 d:\w7rtm\base\ntsetup\opktools\dism\providers\wimprovider\dll\wimimage.cpp:497 - CWimImage::InternalGetStatus(hr:0x80070057)
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Error                 DISM   DISM.EXE: No providers can service the image found at 'c:\dismtool2\mount'. HRESULT=C150003A - CDismWrapper::ValidateDismTarget(hr:0xc150003a)
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: Image session has been closed. Reboot required=no.
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: 
    2009-10-10 14:40:56, Info                  DISM   DISM.EXE: <----- Ending Dism.exe session ----->
    
     
  2. HSChronic

    HSChronic MDL Expert

    Aug 25, 2007
    1,213
    57
    60
    have you installed the wimfilter.inf?
     
  3. fredpsycho83

    fredpsycho83 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    57
    54
    0
    of course... how can i mount succesfully a wim file however ?

    it's all ok except dism ...

    i have tested it with wimfltr.inf v6.0.6001 and 6.1.7600
    i have tested with WAIK Vista, with WAIK 7
    i have also tried to mount the wim with GimageX instead of ImageX, same result
    i have tried to mount the wim with the dism command, the mount is ok, but i can't apply the reg tweak in the mount path.

    i really have tried all i can imagine...

    like i said, its working 100% under vista. In fact i have installed vista on a VirtualPC in 7, and all my dism command work properly in the virtual machine...

    i really don't get it at all ...
     
  4. fredpsycho83

    fredpsycho83 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    57
    54
    0
    nobody has a clue ??
     
  5. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,088
    60
    #5 Mr Jinje, Oct 12, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Looking at the last path before the error occurs.

    Code:
    d:\w7rtm\base\ntsetup\opktools\dism\providers\wimprovider\dll\wimimage.cpp
    Me thinks the error is something in your OPK Tools. Try either uninstalling or re-installing the OPK. What version are you using ?

    Since DISM is built-into Windows 7, it will probably work like your Vista if you just uninstall. Then to be sure I would re-install and see if the error returns.
     
  6. fredpsycho83

    fredpsycho83 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    57
    54
    0
    i haven't installed OPK, i don't even know what it is ...
    so i don't know the version or the way to eventually uninstall it.

    maybe it is beacause i use "my" DISM (all files) in a specific folder while the "real" DISM integrated in 7 is present ? in the Vista i used there was no DISM preinstalled ...
     
  7. fredpsycho83

    fredpsycho83 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    57
    54
    0
    #8 fredpsycho83, Oct 12, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2009
    (OP)
    but its working all good on vista without any WAIK installed ...

    the "install_wim_tweak.exe" is needed to remove packages, is there an other tool to do that ?

    the problem with mounting a wim image with DISM, its after i havent a full control on the mounted files, i can't manually delete or replace some files.

    by mounting wim file using imagex and apply this tweak, i have full control, and i can remove more package that DISM allowed in the first place.

    is there other tools ? like "unlocker" maybe ?



    just for the example, here is the way i have made my batch :
    - imagex : mount the image
    - applying the tweak
    - dism : integrate update
    - dism : integrate drivers
    - dism : install product key
    - dism : remove packages
    - imagex : commit and recompress wim to maximum
    - oscdimg : create the iso
     
  8. Owned67

    Owned67 MDL Novice

    Dec 9, 2009
    4
    1
    0
    #9 Owned67, Dec 12, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2009
    Hello,

    I also have the error: dismtool is corrupt ...

    The assembly file. Wim goes well but when the integration of updates, I get this error ...

    I tried the command line or with WAIK for Windows 7 and such ...

    . Inf files were installed and I rebooted the PC after installation is complete.

    I also tested the version of Mr Jinja and the result is the same

    Have you any idea?

    My Windows 7 :

    Windows 7 Edition Int├ęgrale (x64) 7600 BUILD 16385

    Log dism:
     
  9. andrewscott48209

    andrewscott48209 MDL Novice

    Nov 19, 2011
    4
    0
    0
    Maybe you have an image mounted with imagex. try unmounting that image and mount it with Dism. The syntax for mounting with dism is:
    dism /Mount-Wim /Wimfile:x:\xxx.wim /index:# /Mountdir:x:\xxx.
    or you might have mounted an image in recovery mode/desktop and forgot to unmount it in recovery console and tried to mount an image on the desktop. or vice/versa