Display card novice question

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by blackranger, Aug 16, 2011.

1. blackranger

blackranger MDL Senior Member

Dec 28, 2009
    #1 blackranger, Aug 16, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Hi there, I'm a novice in the world of self-built comps.

I have a question here:

Q1) Where can I find onboard display cards? Are the followings where onboard display cards can be found in?
    Code:
    Mainboard
    CPU

Q2) So is there any differences between 2 kinds (or more) onboard display cards?

Q3) Does it mean that "when I'm using, I can switch from one card to another" if my mainboard and CPU both include onboard display cards?

Thanks, dude for reading my questions! :biggrin:

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. x86

x86 MDL Addicted

Jul 8, 2011
    #2 x86, Aug 16, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011
    Basically you have two options regarding graphics cards:

a) On the motherboard - as an integrated solution (it has nothing to do with the CPU btw). Think of it like having an audio controller on the motherboard - in a similar way you can have an onboard GPU (graphics processing unit) for graphics...

b) Add-on graphics card - this is the most common. Standalone graphics cards 'sit' on the motherboard using a BUS connector i.e. PCIe. This is what you should be looking at, if you are serious about GPU-demanding applications i.e. HD playback, games etc.

In recent years, graphics cards have become increasingly more powerful, thus taking more burden off the CPU. A good example of that is the hardware decoding of H264 which can now be carried out almost exclusively by the graphics card. That frees up CPU resources and allows people with older hardware (such as myself!) to enjoy full 1080p playback ... on a single-core P4 :)