Do I really need a new hard drive?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by carburetorguy, Dec 17, 2012.

1. carburetorguy

carburetorguy MDL Novice

Apr 28, 2012
    Hello to everyone on MDL. I am a novice at computers. I have a Dell 1545 Inspiron laptop, 4GB memory, 320GB HDD,
    Windows 7 Ultimate with MDL Loader.
    After installing Windows updates on 12/11/12, the computer began having problems starting Windows. The Start Up has
    gotten progressively worse. Now, on Start up, I'm getting a window that reads "Hard Drive Failing, Back up Computer"!
    If I get the computer up and working and use the Hibernate or Sleep modes (even for long periods of time), it proforms like new. It's only on Start Up when the problem occurs.
    Is Windows curupt or can a Hard Drive have a failure only at Start up? :confused:

Thanks!

2. Michaela Joy

Michaela Joy MDL Crazy Lady

Jul 26, 2012
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. PhaseDoubt

PhaseDoubt MDL Expert

Dec 24, 2011
    Hard drives can fail at any time. The thing is they always fail at the worst possible time.

If your computer is telling you your drive is failing, it's meeting some failure criteria specified by the maker and it would be foolish to disregard the warning.

Hard drives are cheap compared to the hassle of lost data and that entails. You may limp along for months, or longer, but all man made devices eventually fail and your drive's time may be up. It seems to be telling you that.

Diagnostic software is one approach, but I've had HDD makers (Seagate, WD and others) tell me the tests are not 100%.

And as to your data: backup, backup, backup.

4. RJARRRPCGP

RJARRRPCGP MDL Senior Member

Feb 24, 2010
    Probably the BIOS giving a warning based on SMART.