Do you actually lose the base license when upgrading to Windows 10?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by kelorgo, Aug 2, 2015.

1. kelorgo

kelorgo MDL Addicted

Oct 29, 2012
    Let me play devil's advocate here a little bit. Note that I am not a lawyer, so everything I write here is just an opinion based on attempting to read Windows license agreements in as much detail as possible.

Everyone seems to assume and agree on what appears to be obvious: that when you upgrade to Windows 10, its license replaces the license of the base genuine Windows you upgrade from (7, 8 or 8.1). Hence you shouldn't be allowed to upgrade to Windows 10 on one computer, then reinstall the base Windows (e.g. 7) on another computer (assuming the base Windows has transfer rights), and carry on using both computers.

However, to me it appears that nothing in the Windows 10 License Terms actually say so. It further appears to me that the Windows 10 License Terms provide an additional license that is separate from the license of the base Windows you upgrade from and that in fact you retain both licenses and are licensed to run one instance of Windows under each.

Let's look at this in detail. If you look at the Software License Agreements for Windows 8 or 8.1, they contain the following text:
    There is no such language in the Windows 10 License Terms!

In fact, the only reference that the Windows 10 License Terms contain to upgrading, in the context of licensing, is in this paragraph:
    Note that this paragraph only says that if the base Windows you upgrade from is non-genuine, then you don't get this license, which makes sense. Other than that, the license granted in these terms is not conditional on and is not linked in any way to your license for the base Windows you upgrade from.