Do you install a start menu app for Windows 8/8.1?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by ian82, Mar 6, 2014.

?

Do you install a 3rd party start menu replacement?

  1. Yes, I can't live without the old Start Menu

    41.3%
  2. No, I use the OS as it was meant to be

    58.8%
  1. ian82

    ian82 MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2012
    1,147
    302
    60
    as the title says, do you install a 3rd party start menu replacement or did you simply get used to how the new OS works?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    7,156
    21,912
    240
    How to Disable ian82 in MDL :swoon:
     
  3. spidernz

    spidernz MDL Senior Member

    May 20, 2011
    272
    67
    10
    with the old style quicklaunch folder, and most of my apps being portable (use a toolbar folder with shortcuts) I use the start screen very little, but with those apps that aren't portable i just use the new apps view few clicks doesn't bother me.

    I had transitioned to this style since xp so i barley used the start menu since then too.
     
  4. nuhkka

    nuhkka MDL Member

    Aug 7, 2009
    175
    22
    10
    no i don't, i don't see any point in doing so

    all metro does is give quicker access to start menu shortcuts

    only difference is that it's full screen but i don't really mind
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. ian82

    ian82 MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2012
    1,147
    302
    60
    can u post an image of ur desktop pls??
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. davehc

    davehc MDL Novice

    Nov 11, 2008
    48
    17
    0
    I have customised and use the Modern gui as my start menu. - one click into it, a sweep and click to open the program.
     
  7. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    Why not simply "Yes or No" to vote for.
    An answer to why they would or wouldn't is up to them.

    My answer is No, I use Win-X but I don't use 8 as it was meant to be.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. spidernz

    spidernz MDL Senior Member

    May 20, 2011
    272
    67
    10
    In the midst of some testing so don't have the quick launch enabled, but here you go

    Desktop.jpg
     
  9. ian82

    ian82 MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2012
    1,147
    302
    60

    lovely, can you give me the link to the full sized wallpaper u have? thanks man
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Aninvitedsoul

    Aninvitedsoul MDL Senior Member

    Sep 14, 2012
    418
    104
    10
    It doesn't make much difference.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Revolve

    Revolve MDL Novice

    Mar 25, 2013
    8
    1
    0
    I'm used to it now. I still don't think much of it and never use any apps but it's better to keep up with the times than fall behind.
     
  12. bchat

    bchat MDL Smart Azz

    Nov 7, 2008
    1,722
    453
    60
    I use the OS as MS designed it. HEY, where's my Kool Aid?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Aninvitedsoul

    Aninvitedsoul MDL Senior Member

    Sep 14, 2012
    418
    104
    10

    Offending ian82,sure won't stop or change his manner of approaching thing. Objective criticism may convince people but satire

    is not humanly accepted and would do just the opposite.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. lievre

    lievre MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2012
    336
    70
    10
    Why? By using the keyboard, it is so easy.

    Lievre
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Aemsa

    Aemsa MDL Member

    Feb 17, 2014
    116
    24
    10
    I didnt, it beats the purpose of the new Windows design, the Start Screen is actually a very good idea, I like it and find it very usefull.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,796
    6,742
    270
    I tried all the start menu things and really didn't like them. I rarely ever see the start screen, when I do its just to launch something. I do not use metro apps either so even more reason not seeing start screen. The right click menu that win8.x has, is more than sufficient for my needs, and it is editable where you can add more to it.

    The biggest thing for me was excepting this is a different os and actually knuckling down and using it. If I was still stumbling around the interface for 3 or 4 months I would be back at Win7. Given enough time to get used to it, I am able to move through my daily use of it faster and more efficient than Win7. I need to use Win7 at work, and with all the use I get out of Win8.x, its sometimes frustrating to use Win7
     
  17. Blind_Faith

    Blind_Faith MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2010
    25
    0
    0
    It took me a while but I got used to the interface... first on my Iconia double 14 inches touch (8.1 was the clincher here) on my surface RT and now on Server2012 R2.

    Why go against the flow
     
  18. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,702
    3,704
    180
    Yes, I use StartIsBack, and that IS the way Win 8.x was meant to be, it was MS who made the mistake
     
  19. ian82

    ian82 MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2012
    1,147
    302
    60
    Same here, StartIsBack is the best out of the whole lot of Start Menu apps I tried.

    1) It doesn't need a service on startup to function (example, Start8 by stardock has a startup service to work)
    2) It doesn't have any lmits on the amount of time you can activate your license on the same PC (Start 8 by stardock will blacklist your license after 3 activations and good luck waiting on them to unblock it)
    3) It is the easiest of the lot to configure
    4) It only costs $2 USD
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...