Does dell win7 upgrade assistant DVD have slic 2.1 bios?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by thump107, Nov 5, 2009.

  1. thump107

    thump107 MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    0
    0
    Hi, could anyone who has received dell win7 upgrade kit confirm this?
    If my pc has slic 2.0 and eligible for win7 upgrade (studio hybrid), where can I get slic 2.1 bios? Dell's website doesn't have new bios.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Kraschman

    Kraschman MDL Novice

    Oct 18, 2009
    27
    0
    0
    What Dell do you have?

    We just got a Studio 17 laptop from them 2 weeks before Win7 launch and there was a slic 2.1 bios listed on their website, (A07 version adding Win7 support to be specific)
     
  3. thump107

    thump107 MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    0
    0
    Thanks!
    I have studio hybrid, used as HTPC
    it now runs win7 without key/OEM cert. If slic 2.1 bios is available, I can import cert and input the key
     
  4. Kraschman

    Kraschman MDL Novice

    Oct 18, 2009
    27
    0
    0
    #4 Kraschman, Nov 5, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2009
    What's a studio hybrid? Not seeing that on Dell's site...

    Ahhhhhh now I see it. Lemme look.

    Looks like the most recent BIOS for your rig is dated in June and doesn't mention Win7. You might have to either wait for Dell to do a new one, or get someone here to mod you one. Although I'd try the BIOS listed there first if it's newer than your current one.
     
  5. thump107

    thump107 MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    0
    0
    dell.com/hybrid
    a desktop using laptop parts
     
  6. Stannieman

    Stannieman MDL Guru

    Sep 4, 2009
    2,232
    1,798
    90
    the dvd should come with an upgrade key which is unique, so you won't need slic, just the key
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. thump107

    thump107 MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    0
    0
    I see. Thanks!
     
  8. thump107

    thump107 MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    0
    0
    Thanks a lot. I already have the latest bios, and it's slic 2.0. I'll try to request a mod, thanks again!
     
  9. Kraschman

    Kraschman MDL Novice

    Oct 18, 2009
    27
    0
    0
    #9 Kraschman, Nov 5, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Well that's true, so long as the version of Win 7 your key is for is the one you want, likely Home Premium or such.

    Of course there's always using a loader...

    Or try this... (search is your friend as it appears someone has already done this one)
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/168126?highlight=dell+studio+hybrid#post168126

    OR... if it's truly an AMI bios you should be able to do one up yourself using the tools in the "BIOS mods" forum.

    Options.... so many options...
     
  10. thump107

    thump107 MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    0
    0
    #10 thump107, Nov 5, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    wow~~~ I do need to improve my search techniques.
    Thanks a million!
     
  11. Kraschman

    Kraschman MDL Novice

    Oct 18, 2009
    27
    0
    0
    My pleasure eh?
     
  12. Kikoo

    Kikoo MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    80
    6
    0
    So theoretically anyone who has a DELL 2.0 SLIC could use this upgrade DVD and would have a valid Win7?
     
  13. Kraschman

    Kraschman MDL Novice

    Oct 18, 2009
    27
    0
    0
    I believe so. I think the upgrade keys are specifically OEM NONSLP keys and as such would not rely on SLIC to work.
     
  14. robi40

    robi40 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 12, 2009
    51
    0
    0
    They should be sending you an upgrade disc which will contain slic 2.1 bios upgrade along with version of win 7 upgrade disc
     
  15. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,692
    3,045
    300
    Sorry that is garbage i know for a fact they just send you an upgrade dvd and a windows 7 drivers dvd. no bios upgrade on dvd. My M8 even asked the tech guys about a bios upgrade from slic 2.0 to 2.1. They did not know what he was talking about.

    We need to send some dell peps over here to let them know dow OEM slp works:D
     
  16. shakeyplace

    shakeyplace MDL Addicted

    May 5, 2007
    861
    75
    30
    Latest bios for Studio hybrid is version 1.0.10
     
  17. thump107

    thump107 MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    0
    0
    yes I'm running 1.0.10 and it's slic 2.0.
     
  18. Kikoo

    Kikoo MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    80
    6
    0
    So they need activation?
     
  19. Rebs

    Rebs MDL Novice

    Sep 29, 2009
    28
    0
    0
    You have to enter the key that comes with the disk
     
  20. robi40

    robi40 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 12, 2009
    51
    0
    0
    All right then i guess Dell does it differently, but I know for a fact that
    HP sends the bios with the upgrade disc and don't post the bios with
    2.1 slic on their website