Downgrade From Win 8 Pro (OEM) to Win 7 Professional?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by TheVoid, Oct 28, 2012.

1. TheVoid

TheVoid MDL Novice

Apr 28, 2012
    Would it be possible to buy a new laptop with windows 8 pro installed and downgrade down to win 7 pro. My problem is that i do not have a win 7 pro key. Is it possible to get this to work still? Anyone know? I'm a total noob here and the above is slightly above my head. I saw a few links online which i can't post here since my post count isn't high enough that they allow downgrading but i'm not sure i understand it enough or if it would in fact work without a win 7 pro key.

My view of it was that I would be able to do so as long as I had the iso (which i can download from the internet). Not entirely sure if i can just activate it using the win 8 key though or I would still need to provide a win 7 key. Any ideas?

Thanks

2. mdc

mdc MDL Junior Member

Jul 22, 2010
    Yes and no. You can't use your Windows 8 product key to activate Windows 7. According to Microsoft's downgrade guide, the following must take place:

For an OEM purchased machine, you've essentially got two choices; a) chase up the manufacturer of your machine for a Windows 7 product key/license, although this will technically invalidate your Windows 8 license, or b) install Windows 7 using Daz's loader.

This, ironically, is the one situation in which using Daz's loader ISN'T illegal, as by the downgrade rights, you're licensed to install and run a copy of Windows 7. It also has the benefit of not cancelling your Windows 8 license, which means when you realise that you've nothing to gain from staying on 7, you can re-install 8.

3. TheVoid

TheVoid MDL Novice

Apr 28, 2012
    Thanks. can you point me to the right place to learn more about Daz's loader for Windows 7? By using that would that mean my windows 7 would be considered genuine?

4. TCM

TCM MDL Addicted

Aug 25, 2011