Downloaded ISO, created a bootable USB drive with Bootcamp Assistant, (SOLVED)

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by AmeliaAnne, Oct 5, 2017.

1. AmeliaAnne

AmeliaAnne MDL Novice

Oct 5, 2017
    #1 AmeliaAnne, Oct 5, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2017
    Background: I'm a broke artist building my own PC to facilitate better video editing and creative streaming on twitch, and I'm pretty new at this, but I've been doing a lot of research and I think (I hope) I'm starting to get it. This technology is a huge and complicated and rapidly changing world, as far as I can tell. I've gained a major appreciation of this site and several others in my hunt for inexpensive solutions to my problems--thanks for being here! I'm a lurker by habit and generally afraid of saying anything... I apologize in advance for the reiteration of questions I know you've answered a million times. I'm trying to double-triple-check.

Steps so far:
    1. I downloaded the Windows 10 64-bit ISO from the Media Creation page on the Microsoft website (I made an account just for this post, so I can't post links) (I think it's the Home version as opposed to Pro or Enterprise. I don't mind too much as I haven't bothered to learn the differences. I don't think it'll matter for my purposes—let me know if you think I should look into this further—for example, should I try something like the download found at HeiDoc.net, to which a "Windows 10, The Ultimate Repository" post on MDL links instead?)

2. I used my macbook's Bootcamp Assistant to create a bootable USB drive from the ISO. I was a little concerned about there being some weird compatibility software possibly downloaded automatically by Mac, but all the other bootable-USB-drive-creators seemed to work only with Windows/Linux, and my google searching seemed to indicate that this was the simplest way to use my Mac to make a bootable USB drive.