Dual Boot Kali 2.0 and Windows 10 . Advice needed.

Discussion in 'Linux' started by alextheg, Jan 13, 2017.

1. alextheg

alextheg MDL Expert

Jan 7, 2009
    Evening all ;)

Due to my upcoming studies I am going to be using Kali 2.0. I dont mind admitting that when it comes to Linux im a bit of a noob ! However ...... What i want to achieve is a dual boot of W10 x64 and Kali 2.0 x64, with Kali being installed on a spare HDD that i have sitting around at home.

Ive done a fair amount of reading and nearly all of the guides and tutorials ive come across give instruxtions on shrinking the existing Windows partition to create free space, then installing Kali there. In all honesty i dont want to go that way, especially as i have a spare drive sitting around.

Is it as simple as just installing Kali and grub on the same drive , then just changing boot order at startup to get to the relevant OS ?

Is there a better / tidier / more correct method ? Its worth mentioning that my system has a Hybrid BIOS. UEFI / Legacy. Windows 10 installed in EFI mode.

Any help will be greatly appreciated :)

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Tito

Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

Nov 30, 2009
  3. alextheg

alextheg MDL Expert

Jan 7, 2009
    #3 alextheg, Jan 13, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2017
    (OP)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. TT_ZX

TT_ZX MDL Novice

Aug 27, 2010