dual boot win7 64bit with XP Pro on new dell machine

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by atomicrabbit, Oct 10, 2011.

1. atomicrabbit

atomicrabbit MDL Novice

Nov 23, 2008
    I have a new Dell machine that came shipped with Win7 64bit and I need to dual boot it with XP Pro (either 32 or 64 bit, not sure yet, but it's dependent on some software that I need to run -- will find out soon). I have 2 questions:

1) Do I need an OEM XP disc since its a dell machine? I was looking at this link (forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/17638-XP-Loader) on how to activate XP, and one guy said "alter the DMI string in the bios" and another said something about "OEM SLP". I'm fairly knowledgeable with computers, but I've never used that kind of activation before and some of these terms are new to me. Can someone point me in the right direction? Any suggestions/tutorials?

2) If I alter the bios to activate OEM XP, will it affect the activation in the Win7 partition?

TIA

2. alextheg

alextheg MDL Expert

Jan 7, 2009
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. atomicrabbit

atomicrabbit MDL Novice

Nov 23, 2008
    Doing a clean install of XP, then reinstalling win7 is not an option as I already have Win7 set up with all the applications as I want it and I don't want to spend time to do it all over again.

Why would I need to use a loader for the win7 installation if it is a legit installation?

4. alextheg

alextheg MDL Expert

Jan 7, 2009
    The loader is simply being used in order to insert a key and cert. You could do this via command line if you have the skills. You could also make a backup of your cert and key that is already on your machine using OEM Dump Tool. Then restore them post install.

Either way I'm pretty sure your going to have to install XP to C:/ and W7 to D:/ . Which means a clean install

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. atomicrabbit