Erase HDD

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by jdr37, Jan 24, 2011.

1. jdr37

jdr37 MDL Novice

Jan 24, 2011
    I attempted to restore my Lenovo 3000J 7387 26U desktop to factory saettings with the Lenovo Rescue and Recovery discs (4 DVDs) I burned when I first purchased the unit. Unfornunately, after running the first disc "Recovery Start Up" I can go no further. I can't get into Windows and it will not accept the "Product Recovery" discs. All I get is "Incorrect disc" and I have not been able to get any answers fron the Lenovo support sites.
    I want to erase the HDD but understand XP dosen't like that!! How can it be done? I can access BIOS and change the start drive from HDD to D.
    Dave

2. 911medic

911medic MDL Guru

Aug 13, 2008
    Why doesnt XP like that?? Just curious......

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jdr37

jdr37 MDL Novice

Jan 24, 2011
    I'm a noob at this, but I've read that to erase the HDD in XP requires that it be donw from DOS and I have no way of getting to DOS.

4. 911medic

911medic MDL Guru

Aug 13, 2008
    Everyone with a PC can get to dos with bootdisk. bootdisk.com to start with..

You can use the XP install disc to delete partition and format the drive..You should read on the subject a bit as you will not get the results you desire otherwise...

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jdr37

jdr37 MDL Novice

Jan 24, 2011
    I am unable to run Ultimate Boot disc. It seems the CD drive is not booting. I'm getting an error message "The file or directory \MiniNT\setupapi.log is corrupt and unreadable. Please run Chkdsk utility" which I can't do because I can't get to Windows.
    I'm really stuck!!
    Ideas??
    Dave

6. ZaForD

ZaForD MDL Expert

Jan 26, 2008
    Hi jdr37,

If you boot from a/your WindowsXP disk, just after you accept the EULA (pressing F8)