ESET Smart Security 4 complaining about HackKMS

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by huge1, Dec 5, 2010.

1. huge1

huge1 MDL Novice

May 13, 2009
    I have Windows 7 Pro, activated using the EZ-Activator published on MDL. I am getting popup windows complaining of the "potentially unwanted application" HackKMS. I'm having some other malware issues, so I want to be careful about what I do with my security settings.

What can I do to not jeopardize my system security but allow my windows activation to remain in place? Is it as easy as excluding HackKMS in ESET settings? (sorry - I'm a bit new to ESET)

If your immediate response is "ESET sucks - use something else", feel free to tell me that.

thanks for any assistance you can provide...

2. sam3971

sam3971 MDL Guru

Nov 14, 2008
    dude, the KMS is getting flagged by a lot of different AV providers, it is not risky at all, I would just make an exception in ESET for HackKMS then you will not get the warnings anymore. I have learned that ESET is actually a very good product, at least their AV anyway. I have heard that the firewall is not so great but that the AV is amazing. I would not trash it just for that reason in other words. Just use the exception.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. huge1

huge1 MDL Novice

May 13, 2009
    Thanks for the helpful reply (DUDE!). That was more or less what I suspected, that it was a false positive (depending on how you look at it I guess - I mean HackKMS is certainly an unwanted application from some points of view)

I'll figure out how to exclude it from ESS warning.

Do others agree that ESET AV is very good but the firewall not so much?

thanks again

4. chianf092

chianf092 MDL Senior Member

Aug 29, 2008