Extra Internal Hard-Drive

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by InEvX, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. InEvX

    InEvX MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    62
    1
    0
    I just bought a WD Black 640 GB hard-drive, and I want to use that as my primary hard drive.

    Since I have two hard-drives, I'm wondering if there's anyway to stop my 2nd hard drive from spinning up.

    Should I just pull the power plug from the hard-drive or is there another way I can do this...which would disable the 2nd hard-drive from even starting.
    Maybe something I can do in the BIOS or device settings? I don't know :(

    If anybody can help, that'd be fantastic :D
     
  2. genuine555

    genuine555 MDL Expert

    Oct 3, 2009
    1,639
    56
    60
    #2 genuine555, Dec 1, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    What brand is it ?

    I know some commands, maybe they will help :


    Code:
     hdparm -Sxxx /dev/xxx
    Sets timeout for standby where xxx stands for the seconds.


    Code:
    hdparm -y /dev/xxx
    puts drive in standby


    Code:
     hdparm -Y /dev/xxx
    sets drive in sleep.

    Try play with those, but, everything that needs to access HDD will wake the HDD up from sleep/standby.

    Maybe increase the write cache so it only wakes up once every few hours to write/read the data and then spins down again once the timeout comes in effect. But I forgot the command for it...


    Also there is a tool called "Hitachi Feature Tool", which lets you configure accoustics of the drive. Setting the level of noise will affect the amount of spin up/down, but it will also affect performance.
     
  3. InEvX

    InEvX MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    62
    1
    0
    Thanks so much :D!
    I have a Western Digital Black 640.

    But I have a problem, I'm trying to install windows 7 on there, yet it keeps showing this:
    Disk 1 Partition 1: 128 MB MSR reserved
    Disk 1 Partition 2: GPT partition style.

    I'm unable to install windows 7 on my new hard drive because of this :'(

    I keep getting those errors. Should I hit "delete" because I can't install because of the error it showing "GPT partition style"
    ..I don't even know wtf that is!!!

    If I hit delete, it won't make my hard-drive unusable right? lol

    Gah!
    Someone heeeeelp!! :D!
     
  4. SixKillerLV

    SixKillerLV MDL Novice

    Sep 28, 2009
    33
    0
    0
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. InEvX

    InEvX MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    62
    1
    0
    I already saw that, I need help getting past that damn error :'(
     
  6. InEvX

    InEvX MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    62
    1
    0
    I got it working :D!!!
     
  7. genuine555

    genuine555 MDL Expert

    Oct 3, 2009
    1,639
    56
    60
    Mind telling how you solved it ?
    For future references, might other ppl come accross this issue ?

    gen555
     
  8. InEvX

    InEvX MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    62
    1
    0
    I went into my BIOS, went to drives, and turned off SATA-0 (my old hard drive).
    I booted from the win 7 disk and it finally let me delete and format the new hard-drive and it worked perfectly.

    Also people can turn off their hard-drive by going into their BIOS and turning off the SATA drive (whatever SATA port the hard-drive is plugged in).

    I don't know if there's an easier way than going into the BIOS and turning off the hard-drive from there, but it's easier than pulling the plug on a hard-drive that you don't want to use.

    If anybody knows how to actually prevent the extra internal hard-drive from spinning up etc an easier way, feel free to share :)
     
  9. genuine555

    genuine555 MDL Expert

    Oct 3, 2009
    1,639
    56
    60
    Very elegant solution. Quick and easy.
    Very nice ;)