fedora 11 64 bit as a guest on windows 7 rtm

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by m_reyna_16, Sep 3, 2009.

  1. m_reyna_16

    m_reyna_16 MDL Novice

    Aug 29, 2009
    22
    0
    0
    for some reason, i cannot get the fedora 11 dvd.iso to run as a guest! i can make the virtual partition right, but just when it is going to boot for the first time, it just hangs in the black screen! by the way, im trying to use virtualbox as the program to run a virtual machine
     
  2. twiz

    twiz MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    401
    1
    10
    I've never had ANY luck with VirtualBox.
    I'd suggest VMWare or Microsoft's Virtual PC.
     
  3. drably

    drably MDL Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    108
    4
    10
    virtualbox doesn't even support 64 bit does it?
     
  4. m_reyna_16

    m_reyna_16 MDL Novice

    Aug 29, 2009
    22
    0
    0
    #4 m_reyna_16, Sep 4, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2009
    (OP)
    i dont know, so it doesnt?

    EDIT: i did some research and it does support both as a guest and host
     
  5. m_reyna_16

    m_reyna_16 MDL Novice

    Aug 29, 2009
    22
    0
    0
    looks like the 64 bit version does not work because i dont have virtualization enabled in BIOS. the 32 bit does, i wonder why...anyways, i have a insyde h2o bios, can anybody help me enable VT-x?
     
  6. gunny2k9

    gunny2k9 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 26, 2009
    51
    0
    0
    #6 gunny2k9, Sep 4, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2009
    depending ur mobo /cpu it should be as simple as going into bios and enabling it ....

    check ur using 64bit win 7 .... check u install 64bit virtualbox.... go in to BIOS (before pc start) enable VT..... check ur cpu supports VT (CPUZ)....... check that ur motherboard even supports vt /supported VT (THATS without the modded BIOS)
     
  7. m_reyna_16

    m_reyna_16 MDL Novice

    Aug 29, 2009
    22
    0
    0
    i am using windows 7 64 bit, the only download for windows virtualbox is both 32/64 bit, if i go into BIOS, it is there but cannot select it because it is greyed out (thats why im asking), and i dont know how to check if it supports VT (CPUZ) or the motherboard for vt/supported VT
     
  8. gunny2k9

    gunny2k9 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 26, 2009
    51
    0
    0
  9. m_reyna_16

    m_reyna_16 MDL Novice

    Aug 29, 2009
    22
    0
    0
    but then why is it that when i tried to install the original version (i think its 32 bit version) of fedora on virtual box, why is it that it does let me do it?

    also, so then the trick for the link i provided does will not work unlocking this feature?
     
  10. gunny2k9

    gunny2k9 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 26, 2009
    51
    0
    0
    #12 gunny2k9, Sep 4, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2009

    VT only required for 64bit GUEST not for 32bit

    so you can do virtual machines as ur machine is now just that the GUEST os must be 32 bit if u continue to use VirtualBox u can give VMWare or Virtual PC 2007 a try with 64bit image and see
     
  11. m_reyna_16

    m_reyna_16 MDL Novice

    Aug 29, 2009
    22
    0
    0
    ok, but first, is it possible to enable it using what the link i posted says to do?

    and, ive seen virtualbox comparisons in the internet to other virtual machine softwares, but have seen that this one is free and that its the best, supposedly, so are these beter than virtualbox?
     
  12. gunny2k9

    gunny2k9 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 26, 2009
    51
    0
    0
  13. m_reyna_16

    m_reyna_16 MDL Novice

    Aug 29, 2009
    22
    0
    0
    got it, so then im stuck using virtualbox on a 32 bit guest? either i do that, or switch to Microsoft vm software to run 64 bit guest right?

    also, what do you personally recommend? i see you have some knowledge of this, as i am just a beginner using vm software. what software do you recommend that is free? reason why i ask is that i saw benchmarks of virtualbox compared to other software and this one came out to be the best one, in my opinion. but then again, im just a starter.
     
  14. gunny2k9

    gunny2k9 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 26, 2009
    51
    0
    0
    #16 gunny2k9, Sep 5, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2009
    Id say give Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 SP1 a go and see what happens its only a small 30mb or so and its free as well i have tryed Virtual PC 2007 its quite easy to use as well but as with many Microsoft software was made by another company MS bourght for the software and as then name says last update like 2007/2008 ..... and with changing it to Windows Virtual PC to Pro and Ent Win 7 means it probly wont be updated at all now

    Me personaly (i know loads people will moan as its bloat) i use VMware Workstation 6 for now and have done for years its like 450/500mb thou and it costs money .... but never given me any problems in 6 years i ve used it.

    Yes u can still use VirtualBox but yes must be 32Bit GUEST ...thats unless virtualbox do like VMWare and make there own code but i doubt they will.

    ANother thought u could also try Parallels Workstation 2.2 another pay for one but not sure if it uses VT or not trail is 20mb so seems small foot print size too
     
  15. whitehat2009

    whitehat2009 MDL Member

    Aug 1, 2009
    162
    2
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. m_reyna_16

    m_reyna_16 MDL Novice

    Aug 29, 2009
    22
    0
    0
    well, i dont have much cash to buy a new one, and i wouldnt just buy one just because i cant run a 64 bit guest on virtualbox. are there any downsides of using a 32 bit guest of fedora? i mean, will it suck (i know the 64 bit version will run faster and smoother as my computer is a 64 bit) or is it just alright?
     
  17. m_reyna_16

    m_reyna_16 MDL Novice

    Aug 29, 2009
    22
    0
    0
    so after doing a lil research, i know that if you have a 64 bit machine, and you have 4gb of ram, it is better to install a 64 bit version of an OS because the 32 bit version will only run up to 2gb of ram (if im not mistaken, but i know it will be a waist of ram if you have more than that) and because the 64 bit will run smoother and faster...but, i also heard that it isnt much difference from either type of bits. so, i decided to install the 32 bit version of fedora on virtualbox. my question is, how much ram would be a good amount of ram to make fedora run?
     
  18. whitehat2009

    whitehat2009 MDL Member

    Aug 1, 2009
    162
    2
    10
    Judging from my real Fedora 11 install, it can do with only 1GB of RAM (even 512MB will work, although slowly). 32-bit OSes can recognize up to 4GB of RAM, not the 2GB limit you mentioned. Also, with Linux I find that 32-bit tends to cause less issues in terms of programs than the 64-bit version.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...