Few questions about a Win 10 install

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Wallboy, Sep 5, 2016.

1. Wallboy

Wallboy MDL Novice

May 21, 2016
    Hello all,

I've been using Windows 7 for the last 8 years or so and haven't had any issues with it and was only planning on trying Win 10 when a game required it. With Forza Horizon 3 only a few weeks away, I want to dual boot Win 10 with my current Win 7. So I plan on creating another partition on my 256GB SSD and installing a fresh barebones Win 10 that I'd be using likely only for DX12/Win10 games on that new partition.

My SSD currently has 2 partitions:

System Reserve 100MB (System, Active, Primary Partition)
    C: 232.79GB (Boot, Page File, Crash, Primary Partition)

If I partition C: into another partition for Win 10 and install Win 10 on that new partition, will I have any dual boot issues with that other System Reserve partition that I need to worry about?

I've been looking into which Win 10 version I should try and I've settled on the following:

en_windows_10_enterprise_2016_ltsb_n_x64_dvd_9057894.iso

(And I use "KMS_VL_ALL - Smart Activation Script" after installation correct?)

I need the SSD space footprint to be as small as possible, so I plan on giving about ~50-60GB of that separate partition for the game/s, and I'm not sure how much space I need to also reserve for the OS. Would a 80GB partition be ok? I plan on setting my Pagefile to 1024MB min/2048MB max like I do on Win 7 to save space. I have never had an issue with this pagefile size on Win 7 (machine has 16GB RAM). Should I have any concerns for doing the same thing on Win 10?

I know LTSB N comes pretty barebones, but are there any other packages I can remove to save more HD space? Any guides of which packages are safe to remove?

I know I need to add the Windows Store for Forza Horizon 3. I already have the thread link on how to add the Store back to LTSB.