GA-Z77X-UD5H - Phoenix or AMI tool ???????

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by downloaddeviant, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. downloaddeviant

    downloaddeviant MDL Junior Member

    Jan 12, 2008
    64
    5
    0
    #1 downloaddeviant, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
  2. conghoaxa1

    conghoaxa1 MDL BIOS/EFI Modifier

    Oct 30, 2009
    2,069
    1,188
    90
    you post link bios?
     
  3. conghoaxa1

    conghoaxa1 MDL BIOS/EFI Modifier

    Oct 30, 2009
    2,069
    1,188
    90
  4. downloaddeviant

    downloaddeviant MDL Junior Member

    Jan 12, 2008
    64
    5
    0
    #5 downloaddeviant, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
    (OP)
    I appreciate the link and the video was really cool. I was really seeking an explanation (a deeper understanding) to the many questions I asked above. Could you answer them for me? Or anyone else? lol My BIOS is AMI...so why the Phoenix tool? Has the Phoenix Tool become a kind of all-in-one BIOS mod tool for UEFI or something?
     
  5. conghoaxa1

    conghoaxa1 MDL BIOS/EFI Modifier

    Oct 30, 2009
    2,069
    1,188
    90
    #6 conghoaxa1, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
    I think it is bios AMI Aptio UEFI so modify with phoenix tool.
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/thr...and-a-question?p=580029&viewfull=1#post580029

    sorry, bad english
     
  6. downloaddeviant

    downloaddeviant MDL Junior Member

    Jan 12, 2008
    64
    5
    0
    Thanks for trying. Your English is very good! Basically, it is not really a 'BIOS' any more, even though we are still calling it that when it really is an UEFI, there for the old way and rules don't apply? Example - real old school AMI BIOS would be modded with AMI Tool. However, because it is UEFI we are using the Phoenix tool...I guess because it can handle the UEFI files?
     
  7. conghoaxa1

    conghoaxa1 MDL BIOS/EFI Modifier

    Oct 30, 2009
    2,069
    1,188
    90
  8. downloaddeviant

    downloaddeviant MDL Junior Member

    Jan 12, 2008
    64
    5
    0
    :biggrin:LOL Just for fun I did try the AMI tool and it said it was not AMI BIOS...lol I think the AMI and AWARD tools are only for old BIOS and not UEFI after reading through numerous posts. Seems like, generally speaking, only the Phoenix tool can handle it. Will definitely have to do a lot more reading though.
     
  9. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,172
    10,931
    340
    Before UEFI there were 3 major BIOS manufacturers: Award, AMI and Phoenix. Phoenix acquired Award, but let them named Award phoenix bioses.
    So andy developed 3 different tools. Award, AMI and Phoenix, all three to modify BIOSes.

    Then EFI came. Award makes no pure EFI, I guess they will vanish from the scene. AMI makes EFI called AMI APTIO EFI. And Insyde and Intel and Phoenix make EFI. The support for them had been added to the last of the 3 tools, which is the Phoenix tool.
    So everything concerning EFI you need the Phoenix tool. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. downloaddeviant

    downloaddeviant MDL Junior Member

    Jan 12, 2008
    64
    5
    0
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! Thank you so much for that simple, eloquent explanation! That is exactly what I was looking for. My brain feels so much better! :worthy:
     
  11. Gradius

    Gradius MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    192
    5
    10
    Got this MB (GA-Z77X-UD5H), it uses AMI UEFI BIOS.

    AMI tool reported as invalid/unknown AMI BIOS.

    Phoenix detected, but I'm afraid to mod it, anyone got any success?
     
  12. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,392
    1,465
    180
  13. Gradius

    Gradius MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    192
    5
    10
    I modded myself, after couple terror seconds (for POST) it worked fine. ;)
     
  14. Blade2565

    Blade2565 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 27, 2008
    58
    9
    0
  15. DaniiCEO

    DaniiCEO MDL Novice

    Nov 6, 2012
    9
    0
    0
    How can I flash my motherboard guys? I am really quite new so I don't know how to do this technical stuff. So it can support Daz Loader. What do I have to do ? So That I can activate my windows 7. My motherboard is a Z77X-UD5H Wifi - Bios Version F14.
     
  16. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,577
    15,392
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. DaniiCEO

    DaniiCEO MDL Novice

    Nov 6, 2012
    9
    0
    0
    OMG YOU GUYS I LOVE YOU !! It worked a treat, Thank you so much ! Windows is Activated ! :DDDD , quick question now :p Is it possible to do something similar with Microsoft office? but THANK YOU ANYWAY !:worthy::biggrin5:
     
  18. tmhstw

    tmhstw MDL Novice

    Feb 26, 2011
    2
    1
    0
    Hey,

    I just got this beast yesterday and I have F14 but I see there there is a beta download.gigabyte.eu/FileList/BIOS/mb_bios_ga-z77x-ud5h_f15m.exe which adds suport for Windows 8.
    Anyone tried it ?

    Thanks