GA-Z77X-UD5H - Phoenix or AMI tool ???????

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by downloaddeviant, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. downloaddeviant

    downloaddeviant MDL Junior Member

    Jan 12, 2008
    64
    5
    0
    #1 downloaddeviant, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
    Hey gang,
    Totally confused by what I am seeing here in the forums. Done plenty of my own BIOS mods.

    First time with the new UEFI BIOS so I need to catch up.

    Got my new Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H mobo. In front of me my BIOS screen say version F7 and is American Megatrends, Inc.
    It does not say Phoenix or Award. I have searched in the requests section and I see some people making requests saying their board is AWARD BIOS, not AMI like mine. OK...so maybe they are wrong. BUT then I see in various places some BIOSes modded and the modders claiming they used the Phoenix tool and the Award tool.

    So...since I want and REALLY LIKE to mod it myself...which is the correct tool for me? Why all this confusion? I am in the US and my board bought/sold in the US. Is it possible some UD5H boards like mine use different BIOSes because they are from other countries? Why would there be different BIOSes? If my BIOS is AMI but I am supposed to use the Phoenix tool...why? It was not like that before as far as I know...
    Link to BIOS -
    http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4139#bios

    More curious to learn and not be ignorant on this topic.

    Thanks for all the help!!! Love you guys here and love MDL!!!!
     
  2. conghoaxa1

    conghoaxa1 MDL BIOS/EFI Modifier

    Oct 30, 2009
    2,069
    1,188
    90
    you post link bios?
     
  3. downloaddeviant

    downloaddeviant MDL Junior Member

    Jan 12, 2008
    64
    5
    0
  4. conghoaxa1

    conghoaxa1 MDL BIOS/EFI Modifier

    Oct 30, 2009
    2,069
    1,188
    90
    #4 conghoaxa1, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
  5. downloaddeviant

    downloaddeviant MDL Junior Member

    Jan 12, 2008
    64
    5
    0
    #5 downloaddeviant, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
    (OP)
    I appreciate the link and the video was really cool. I was really seeking an explanation (a deeper understanding) to the many questions I asked above. Could you answer them for me? Or anyone else? lol My BIOS is AMI...so why the Phoenix tool? Has the Phoenix Tool become a kind of all-in-one BIOS mod tool for UEFI or something?
     
  6. conghoaxa1

    conghoaxa1 MDL BIOS/EFI Modifier

    Oct 30, 2009
    2,069
    1,188
    90
    #6 conghoaxa1, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
    I think it is bios AMI Aptio UEFI so modify with phoenix tool.
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/thr...and-a-question?p=580029&viewfull=1#post580029

    sorry, bad english
     
  7. downloaddeviant

    downloaddeviant MDL Junior Member

    Jan 12, 2008
    64
    5
    0
    Thanks for trying. Your English is very good! Basically, it is not really a 'BIOS' any more, even though we are still calling it that when it really is an UEFI, there for the old way and rules don't apply? Example - real old school AMI BIOS would be modded with AMI Tool. However, because it is UEFI we are using the Phoenix tool...I guess because it can handle the UEFI files?
     
  8. conghoaxa1

    conghoaxa1 MDL BIOS/EFI Modifier

    Oct 30, 2009
    2,069
    1,188
    90
    #8 conghoaxa1, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
    you can try modify it with the ami tool or award tool, if not wrong tool will not be modify bios.:)
    some say the wrong type bios, you try modify with all tool ami, award, phonix.
    such special circumstances here
    http://www.gigabyte.vn/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3855#dl
    U1b(UEFI BIOS) is ami aptio uefi modify with phoenix tool
    F10 is award modify with award tool
     
  9. downloaddeviant

    downloaddeviant MDL Junior Member

    Jan 12, 2008
    64
    5
    0
    :biggrin:LOL Just for fun I did try the AMI tool and it said it was not AMI BIOS...lol I think the AMI and AWARD tools are only for old BIOS and not UEFI after reading through numerous posts. Seems like, generally speaking, only the Phoenix tool can handle it. Will definitely have to do a lot more reading though.
     
  10. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,938
    10,478
    340
    Before UEFI there were 3 major BIOS manufacturers: Award, AMI and Phoenix. Phoenix acquired Award, but let them named Award phoenix bioses.
    So andy developed 3 different tools. Award, AMI and Phoenix, all three to modify BIOSes.

    Then EFI came. Award makes no pure EFI, I guess they will vanish from the scene. AMI makes EFI called AMI APTIO EFI. And Insyde and Intel and Phoenix make EFI. The support for them had been added to the last of the 3 tools, which is the Phoenix tool.
    So everything concerning EFI you need the Phoenix tool. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. downloaddeviant

    downloaddeviant MDL Junior Member

    Jan 12, 2008
    64
    5
    0
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! Thank you so much for that simple, eloquent explanation! That is exactly what I was looking for. My brain feels so much better! :worthy:
     
  12. Gradius

    Gradius MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    192
    5
    10
    Got this MB (GA-Z77X-UD5H), it uses AMI UEFI BIOS.

    AMI tool reported as invalid/unknown AMI BIOS.

    Phoenix detected, but I'm afraid to mod it, anyone got any success?
     
  13. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,266
    1,422
    180
    #13 LatinMcG, Aug 4, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
    go for it.. it should work.
    GA-Z77X-UD5H) Not WIFI but seems to be same bios
    Method: Module
    Tool: Phoenix Mod 2.09
    Slic: Gigabyte
    Bios Version F8
    http://www.mediafire.com/?3hpu4ekvu1zjdf5
    create usb bootable.then place files in usb. flash original. reboot to usbdos and flash mod.
    rename without _SLIC.. replace original in usb. autoexec.bat will flash automatic.)
     
  14. Gradius

    Gradius MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    192
    5
    10
    I modded myself, after couple terror seconds (for POST) it worked fine. ;)
     
  15. Blade2565

    Blade2565 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 27, 2008
    58
    9
    0
    #15 Blade2565, Aug 29, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2012
    Anyone did modify BIOS version F14 already?

    Download link: http://download.gigabyte.eu/FileList/BIOS/mb_bios_ga-z77x-ud5h_f14.exe or http://download.gigabyte.asia/FileList/BIOS/mb_bios_ga-z77x-ud5h_f14.exe

    BIOS for Z77X-UD5H is the same as for the Wifi UD5H since it is an add on card (own myself the Wifi one ;))

    @Gradius did u modify like shown in the tutorial movie? post in this Thread? or? Want to be able to do it myself in the future :p

    Did do modify it like described in the tutorial (which is at the begining of the thread):

    Z77X-UD5H (or Wifi) F14 BIOS, use flash.bat to flash slic BIOS use org.bat to flash original BIOS, recommend to flash orginal first than slic version.
    Best to flash of bootable USB stick from DOS.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?33p99eyoz8e9tip

    Slic 2.1 Gigabyte

    BIOS Modified by Blade2565
    Confirmed Working by Blade2565
     
  16. DaniiCEO

    DaniiCEO MDL Novice

    Nov 6, 2012
    9
    0
    0
    How can I flash my motherboard guys? I am really quite new so I don't know how to do this technical stuff. So it can support Daz Loader. What do I have to do ? So That I can activate my windows 7. My motherboard is a Z77X-UD5H Wifi - Bios Version F14.
     
  17. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,214
    14,777
    340
    Make a bootable pendrive by this -> http://rufus.akeo.ie/

    Download the modded bios by Blade2565.

    Unrar the contents to the root of the pendrive.

    Boot from it, use flash.bat to flash slic BIOS & use org.bat to flash original BIOS. First flash the original bios.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,266
    1,422
    180
    first use org.bat to flash original BIOS. REBOOT to dos again then use flash.bat to flash slic BIOS
     
  19. DaniiCEO

    DaniiCEO MDL Novice

    Nov 6, 2012
    9
    0
    0
    OMG YOU GUYS I LOVE YOU !! It worked a treat, Thank you so much ! Windows is Activated ! :DDDD , quick question now :p Is it possible to do something similar with Microsoft office? but THANK YOU ANYWAY !:worthy::biggrin5:
     
  20. tmhstw

    tmhstw MDL Novice

    Feb 26, 2011
    2
    1
    0
    Hey,

    I just got this beast yesterday and I have F14 but I see there there is a beta download.gigabyte.eu/FileList/BIOS/mb_bios_ga-z77x-ud5h_f15m.exe which adds suport for Windows 8.
    Anyone tried it ?

    Thanks