Games won't launch under Steam on Windows 8 Pro 64bit!

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by jincuteguy, Aug 23, 2013.

  1. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy MDL Member

    Oct 26, 2012
    177
    3
    10
    So I just installed Windows 8, everything was fine. Until I opened up Steam and launched a game. Every game that I launched using Steam did not load, it just froze and has a black screen then becomes Not Responding, so I had to End Task it. But if I launched the game by itself (without turning on Steam), then the game works fine.

    I tried everything from reinstalling Steam, reinstalling the games, Verify game file cache, etc. None has worked so far. Does anyone experience this issue?

    I also tried all the latest Nvidia drivers from 326.80 Beta to those older ones.

    My system spec:

    Windows 8 Pro 64bit
    i7 2600k
    Asus Sabertooth Z77
    Kingston 8gb Ram
    GTX 780
    Enermax 850W psu
     
  2. germanhess

    germanhess MDL Member

    May 26, 2012
    155
    27
    10
    I have had problems with direct3d in these games of steam...so I found this and games work perfect ( sorry i can not post links ) This will generate D3D9.dll files with your chosen videocard;
    INSTRUCTIONS:
    1) Double-click D3D9Gen.jar to run the program. !!!You need Java!!!
    2) To generate a DLL, do this:
    a) Set it to List, select a card you want to try, and hit "Generate DLL". It will
    create a d3d9.dll in the directory the program is in.
    OR (probably better)
    b) Set it to Text, and try detecting your own card. Try #1 first, then #2, then
    #3. #3 can correctly detect weird cards (hybrid integrated/dedicated) but is
    extremely slow.
    3) Put your new d3d9.dll in your FNV directory; normally this is
    Steam\steamapps\common\fallout new vegas\
     
  3. LQQL

    LQQL MDL Addicted

    Apr 21, 2009
    773
    120
    30
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy MDL Member

    Oct 26, 2012
    177
    3
    10
    It won't let me post on the Steam forums, that's why Im asking here.
     
  5. popcorn90011

    popcorn90011 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 21, 2013
    284
    85
    10
    Thats funny, I use steam and it worked just fine for me with every ver of 8 8.1 I have tried so far. Make sure Directx is installed(yes install it manually by downloading the installer).
     
  6. LQQL

    LQQL MDL Addicted

    Apr 21, 2009
    773
    120
    30
    Same here. Pretty stable and fluid.

    Why is that?!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. popcorn90011

    popcorn90011 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 21, 2013
    284
    85
    10
    Ya big picture works very well.
     
  8. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy MDL Member

    Oct 26, 2012
    177
    3
    10
    No idea, it keeps saying i have too many frequent posts, which I haven't post anything for over 4 years on Steam forums. So there is something wrong with their system.
     
  9. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy MDL Member

    Oct 26, 2012
    177
    3
    10
    Which DirectX version u're talking about? 9? or 10? or 11?

    But the thing is the games work fine without Steam.
     
  10. Humphrey

    Humphrey MDL Expert

    Dec 13, 2011
    1,458
    981
    60
    Most likely going to be 11. I have Windows 8 x64 and I do not remember installing directx at all but if you run dxdiag from run it will show you which version is installed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. popcorn90011

    popcorn90011 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 21, 2013
    284
    85
    10
  12. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy MDL Member

    Oct 26, 2012
    177
    3
    10
    Yea I already installed that, but just to make sure I just reinstalled it again. And didn't fix it, still same issue. it's just weird that the games themselves work without launching Steam.
     
  13. popcorn90011

    popcorn90011 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 21, 2013
    284
    85
    10
    I have never tried running cracked games on steam so I can't say why it won't work for you. So I am assuming that you have greenluma installed as well? and you go to try to run a non steam game and they won't boot? I wonder if that has to do with the patched steam.dll's? I'm the wrong person to be asking about this as I don't pirate games just os's lol. Sorry I couldn't help.
     
  14. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy MDL Member

    Oct 26, 2012
    177
    3
    10
    I dont run cracked game on Steam, and the games I have are both, some come and only work with Steam, some I just added to run from Steam such as Planetside 2. I don't have greenluma installed, i dont even know what that is haha. I tried run games that I bought through Steam and they only work if you launch the game using Steam, and that still have issue.
     
  15. popcorn90011

    popcorn90011 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 21, 2013
    284
    85
    10
    Have you tried reinstalling steam?
    *sorry I jumped to conclusions about piracy*
     
  16. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy MDL Member

    Oct 26, 2012
    177
    3
    10
    Ok I found the problem, it is indeed MSI Afterburner that I always use to monitor my gtx 780 temperature and voltage. So as soon as I turned it off, all games loaded beautifully with Steam.
     
  17. popcorn90011

    popcorn90011 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 21, 2013
    284
    85
    10
    Well there you go. Patients and problem solving goes a long way. An example would be some of my games would boot then the next time they won't why? I try everything and get nowhere then I notice that when I got my 360 controller turned on they won't boot so as it turned out it was the driver causing the crash replaced with a different driver and now no problems.

    I guess mods can close this thread as solved.
     
  18. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy MDL Member

    Oct 26, 2012
    177
    3
    10
    Yea thanks again for trying to help me, cheers! This forums is a lot more active and people actually help others compare to other forums. And most people on here replied really fast. So far I really love this forums compare to others like overclock.net and hardforum
     
  19. LQQL

    LQQL MDL Addicted

    Apr 21, 2009
    773
    120
    30
    Just curious: Why do you even overclock GPU and/or CPU? Aren't they good enough?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. eydee

    eydee Guest

    1. Update video drivers.
    2. If it's still not good, turn off the overlay.