Getting user account name in Windows via automated batch script

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by nima1024, Jan 18, 2020.

1. nima1024

nima1024 MDL Member

Sep 18, 2010
    Hello all,
    I'm new to writing scripts in batch, I have encountered a problem, hope you can help me guys.

I want to know how can I get user account name and then replace it in another command in fully automated script, let me explain the issue by some part of my real script.

Code:
    COPY C:\Users\nima\AppData\Local\Temp\file.txt C:\file.txt

This script will only work if run under 'nima' user account, how can I get name of user account which run the script and then replace it in that address?

P.s.: Do I need Administrator privilege to access files in the \AppData\Local\Temp folder or not?
    If yes, I would be really really appreciated I you share 'auto administrator elevation' script to put it at start.

Best Regards,
    Nima

2. nima1024

nima1024 MDL Member

Sep 18, 2010
  3. Windows_Addict

Windows_Addict MDL Expert

Jul 19, 2018
    #3 Windows_Addict, Jan 18, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2020
    Try,
    Code:
    copy "%temp%\file.txt" "%systemdrive%\file.txt"

It does not need admin privileges. (edit - copying to root of c drive will require admin rights)

Edit-

Better,
    Code:
    if exist "%temp%\file.txt" (
    copy "%temp%\file.txt" "%systemdrive%\file.txt"
    )

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. nima1024

nima1024 MDL Member

Sep 18, 2010
    My final file must be copied in root of c and I can not ignore that, actually. o_O

5. Windows_Addict

Windows_Addict MDL Expert

Jul 19, 2018
    Try @BAU 's this code to auto elevate batch script (for rights to copy in root of c drive) , https://pastebin.com/XTPt0JSC
    Code:
    ::AveYo: self-elevate passing args and preventing loop
    set "args="%~f0" %*" & call set "args=%%args:"=\""%%"