Going to buy a Huawei... Good move?

Discussion in 'Mobile and Portable' started by Coastal Jay, Sep 24, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Coastal Jay

Coastal Jay MDL Novice

Aug 15, 2018
    #1 Coastal Jay, Sep 24, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2018
    Hi I'm considering upgrading from my iPhone 5c to a Huawei Nova 3e. Anyone know anything good/bad about Huawei phones?? My budget is about $350 Australian. I've never used android before but I'm a low level nerd so I figure I should be fine. Cheers!

2. ThomasMann

ThomasMann MDL Expert

Dec 31, 2015
    Good stuff... seems to be bigger than apple by now... the one thing bad (at least with the tablet) basically unrootable... the tablet has four Harman Kardon speakers built-in, unbelievable sound, they seem to use quality....

3. Just the bold word is enough for me to say no.
    This brand is now Apple-bis.
    Consider a Xiaomi instead, imo it's the best price/quality ratio atm.

4. ThomasMann

ThomasMann MDL Expert

Dec 31, 2015
    Well... I am a bit of a weirdo... in my world a bold word is neither a reason for nor against something.
    On the other hand you may be right still.... I only know Huawei tablets, without actually knowing their phones, I se no reason not to believe they might just be the same quality. The first criticism of Huawei products I heard... was your "bold word".
    Do you know more? I am always willing to learn...

5. Damn sorry i forgot this topic ! Forgive me.
    Well, Huawei said basically "no" to custom ROMS (for example if you don't want a bloated rom with google play) since they locked for good the bootloader.

It's up to your needs tho.

6. ThomasMann

ThomasMann MDL Expert

Dec 31, 2015

That is what I wrote.....

7. What are you needs ?

8. ThomasMann

ThomasMann MDL Expert

Dec 31, 2015

Reading on ezPDF, listening to Music Folder Player (NOTHING better than Huawei Speakers), Watching Videos on VLC, Checking mail on Firefox, and using mapfaktor navigator for driving.....

9. R29k