GUIDE: How to backup and restore Windows 8 activation

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by JaguarXJ12, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    450
    637
    10
  2. Adidas

    Adidas MDL Novice

    Aug 26, 2009
    33
    7
    0
    Is this method is per PC (Hardware) or can i move this folder between different WIN8 PC's?
    thanks,
     
  3. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,140
    240
    It certainly is fixed to the machine and to its OS. If this were the case, the universal activation method were found. I think, it is not :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    450
    637
    10
    Yeah that would have been something alright. But yeah it's tied to the current OS and hardware.
    Added a reminder just in case.
     
  5. CRA2YHAVOK

    CRA2YHAVOK MDL Senior Member

    Oct 23, 2009
    460
    155
    10
    Thanks good to know, plus now I know where I was going wrong ;)
     
  6. Teknik

    Teknik MDL Junior Member

    Oct 9, 2010
    72
    9
    0
    it's work!!! but slmgr -ipk ???
     
  7. ripdog2121

    ripdog2121 MDL Novice

    Aug 7, 2012
    2
    0
    0
    Hmm... I have activated Enterprise N installed, and I want to switch to professional. You say that it should work independant of version, but how confident are you about that? Do you have any concrete grounds for that belief?
     
  8. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    450
    637
    10
    Actually not necessary. I have done this 3 times now without a hitch and haven't used slmgr -ipk once.
    I guess somehow the key magically gets inserted again since it shows up as partial.

    You have to activate Professional and then take backup of the activation files again. You can't use the activation files from Enterprise N.
     
  9. ripdog2121

    ripdog2121 MDL Novice

    Aug 7, 2012
    2
    0
    0
    Oh, looks like I misread the statement I was referring to. Thanks for the help, I guess I'm waiting for a server to show up.
     
  10. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    450
    637
    10
    No problem, and good luck!
     
  11. greyaburton

    greyaburton MDL Addicted

    Mar 8, 2009
    557
    54
    30
    will this activation will still only give you the 180 days?if so ,can you use this method to reactivate the original windows and get another 180 days?thanks
     
  12. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    450
    637
    10
    Nope for KMS activation it doesn't work that way. What you have now is a working solution for 180 days for your current hardware and OS. Nothing more nothing less.
    When you buy the real Windows 8 which gonna be retail you can make a permanent backup as long as your hardware and OS edition matches to the backup like it always have done with Vista and 7.
     
  13. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    450
    637
    10
    Why for the love of god did you post that here. We're already using the RTM version and could easily look at this anytime.
    DON'T HIJACK THIS THREAD!!! :(
     
  14. Kroww

    Kroww MDL Novice

    Aug 3, 2012
    14
    4
    0
    @jaguarxj12 He is just advertising his site! =))
     
  15. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    450
    637
    10
    Why didn't he post a new thread then. This thread is about backing up and restoring activation not Lock screen backgrounds. :(
     
  16. Rock Hunter

    Rock Hunter MDL Senior Member

    Dec 6, 2011
    407
    99
    10
    I am not finding a folder named Store. I am finding a folder under SPP called Tokens. Is that the folder that you are calling the Store folder?
     
  17. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    450
    637
    10
    Type in or browse to C:\Windows\System32\spp\

    That should take you to the spp folder where the store folder is located.
    Which version of Windows 8 are you using?

    EDIT: I'm looking at the folder right now, it's there. It could be that the folder is hidden, then you have to go to folder options and make sure you see hidden items.
     
  18. Rock Hunter

    Rock Hunter MDL Senior Member

    Dec 6, 2011
    407
    99
    10
    Ah ha, it was hidden. Now I can see it. Thanks for your help.
     
  19. DonaldCrader

    DonaldCrader MDL Novice

    Jul 24, 2012
    6
    0
    0
    Hey

    Hi I have been working with Windows 7 and want to know that can I upgrade it into Windows 7 without rebooting If yes then will It slow down my lappy as I have 2 GB of RAM? Is there any adverse impact of that? I have so many programs installed in it and I dont want to re-install all once again.. Please provide me with solution and guide.
     
  20. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    450
    637
    10
    I'm not sure I could help you with that actually, and this is the wrong thread to ask it too.