Have I killed yet another pc?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by ryouga, Jul 23, 2014.

1. ryouga

ryouga MDL Member

Apr 15, 2008
    I have a Coolermaster cpu water cooling unit on my pc but the design of the mount was so bad that it was always had bad pressure on the cpu, not enough to raise temps much i.e about 32 idle for a i7 but sometimes I would open side of pc and tighten the screws a little and temps would drop a few degrees.

Today I decided to do a proper job of the install but could not for the life of me get the 4th corner in(one of the biggest problems with the unit) so decided to remove the pipes but was careful, still got a few tiny drips in corner of board so decided to be safe and remove board from case and wipe it down and inside case.

When I put it back together unit is failing to get any power, just seems to not even get that far.

I am unsure if it is power supply or the board since when I put the power cable in back of any pc normally it makes a slight sound and to me that means its getting power but with this its nothing, there is even a power button on the board itself so the front panel ones are not needed.

I removed all pci cards even graphics card and all optical drives.

Not even turning on.

Wanted some advice on this.

2. Flipp3r

Flipp3r MDL Expert

Feb 11, 2009
    There could be a short somewhere which is stopping it from powering up.
    Maybe the power supply has died.
    If your liquid cooler is a closed unit I would chuck it out if it's leaking.
    You can check the power supply by removing/unplugging it from the system & shorting 2 pins. I think green+black will turn it on. Google 1st to make sure!!!

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ryouga

ryouga MDL Member

Apr 15, 2008
    This morning it booted first time though I had nothing plugged in i.e graphics card of pci cards and left it on about 10 minutes then it shut itself down.