HDR name and bios recovery for Dell M4600

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by turturikaboy, Dec 2, 2013.

  1. turturikaboy

    turturikaboy MDL Junior Member

    Nov 11, 2013
    63
    1
    0
    I've extracted hdr file using python script from MDL and got M4600A01.EXE_decompressed file. Should I rename this file? I've tried WinHex editor but i can't find how to rename hdr file...
    Also, how to enter to recovery function? I've tried using usual END or END+Power button with non-renamed hdr file and nothing happens...
    I have to add that I didn't see any battery light flashing or blinking while I'm holding those combinations... Only once white when I plug AC and that would be all... I think that I haven't enter to recovery procedure, therefore, I need some help...
     
  2. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,382
    1,456
    180
    post the file so i can read it. . i havent used the python tool as i havent needed it
     
  3. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,382
    1,456
    180
    searched for ROM and got
    Brooks150.rom
     
  4. turturikaboy

    turturikaboy MDL Junior Member

    Nov 11, 2013
    63
    1
    0
    Ok, and what now?
    Is it the name of hdr file?
    I'm not sure I quiet understand you...
     
  5. turturikaboy

    turturikaboy MDL Junior Member

    Nov 11, 2013
    63
    1
    0
    And what tool did you use to get Brooks150.rom?
    What after this?
     
  6. tonto11

    tonto11 MDL Addicted

    Jun 18, 2012
    594
    261
    30
    I searched with wordpad and found this about halfway through the file:

    brooks.jpg

    We'll have to wait to see what to do with it.

    ...T
     
  7. turturikaboy

    turturikaboy MDL Junior Member

    Nov 11, 2013
    63
    1
    0
    Both posted files contain Brooks150.rom when you open it with wordpad...
    Let's see what LatinMcG proposes...

    @tonto11 : Do you know something about entering in recovery procedure? Because with Dell M4600 the traditional way (END button or END+Power) doesn't work...
     
  8. tonto11

    tonto11 MDL Addicted

    Jun 18, 2012
    594
    261
    30
    #9 tonto11, Dec 3, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013
     
  9. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,382
    1,456
    180
    #10 LatinMcG, Dec 4, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2013
    ive never done m4600 . not sure but i would think reading other threads might help.

    it looks like EFI type so it might need new methods that i havent done.. but only read about barely

    try BIOS.cap
     
  10. turturikaboy

    turturikaboy MDL Junior Member

    Nov 11, 2013
    63
    1
    0
    But what about recovery procedure? Is it another way to enter in recovery? Because it seems that end button doesn't work as we expect...
     
  11. tonto11

    tonto11 MDL Addicted

    Jun 18, 2012
    594
    261
    30
    I'd be careful with bios.cap It looks like a proprietary Asus tool.

    ...T
     
  12. turturikaboy

    turturikaboy MDL Junior Member

    Nov 11, 2013
    63
    1
    0
    #13 turturikaboy, Dec 4, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2013
    (OP)
    What's bios.cap? I didn't search around...
    And did you find a recovery procedure??? END button doesn't help with M4600
     
  13. tonto11

    tonto11 MDL Addicted

    Jun 18, 2012
    594
    261
    30
    google :bios.cap dell
    you will find a bunch of threads mostly on overclockers and gamers who seem to be creating a lot of bricks.
    ...T
     
  14. turturikaboy

    turturikaboy MDL Junior Member

    Nov 11, 2013
    63
    1
    0
    #15 turturikaboy, Dec 4, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2013
    (OP)
    Ok... But, my guess it's a deadend...

    What did you figured out about recovery procedure???

    And what kind of bios do I have???
     
  15. tonto11

    tonto11 MDL Addicted

    Jun 18, 2012
    594
    261
    30
  16. tonto11

    tonto11 MDL Addicted

    Jun 18, 2012
    594
    261
    30
  17. turturikaboy

    turturikaboy MDL Junior Member

    Nov 11, 2013
    63
    1
    0
    Of course! When I enter to BIOS by pressing F2, there is UNLOCK button and I can't change anything in BIOS. I can post a pic but I know what I'm talking about. It is not a password set on hdd because the appearing serial number when I press UNLOCK in bios has 7 characters...

    Can you give me some instructions knowing it's not EFI???
     
  18. tonto11

    tonto11 MDL Addicted

    Jun 18, 2012
    594
    261
    30
    #20 tonto11, Dec 5, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2013