Help Building a Small Business Server

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by navino87, Aug 25, 2010.

1. navino87

navino87 MDL Novice

Aug 8, 2009
    hi..

Iam planning to build a business server. I am new to this server concept. Our main purpose is 'centralised data storage'. We have office in 3 different location. Files in the server must be accessed by computers with different permission level. This being our main purpose, what are the other benefits from a server? what is a server all about??

Planning to use windows server 2008 since I already have a legit copy of it..

Plz help me in building a server.. TY

2. sebus

sebus MDL Guru

Jul 23, 2008
    ???

A bit more info?
    Just file sharing or AD as well (for user management)

How many users? Internet access to file, via VPN? etc

More description, better answer

sebus

3. navino87

navino87 MDL Novice

Aug 8, 2009
    Iam a noob when coming to server.. At present we need file server.. I dono what else a server can do :(.. Plz enlighten me with this regards.. what is AD?

Office1 - 4 computer (2 - running windows XP, 2 - running windows 7)
    office2 - 2 computer(Windows XP and Windows 7)
    office3 - 2 computer(Windows XP and Windows 7)

All computers has Internet access.. Server vil be in office1.. read write permission should be set for different users..

Is it also possible to have a email name @ companyname.com with use of server??

4. myhken

myhken Experienced MDL Tester

Feb 28, 2010
    A NAS will be cheaper if you have to buy a server license, but OP has a license, so a cheap fileserver can be a good option, if they like to add more features on the server later on. But of course, some of the good NAS units has lots of features to use in a SMB environment.

5. sebus

sebus MDL Guru

Jul 23, 2008
    With the server you have also electricity bills, which are WAY smaller with a NAS unit.
    Server can go wrong much easier than a purpose NAS unit