Help Flashing BIOS for IPIBL-LB Motherboard (HP m9360f)

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by rainster, Jun 11, 2010.

1. rainster

rainster MDL Novice

Jun 8, 2010
    #1 rainster, Jun 11, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2010
    Hi,

I'm completely new to BIOS mods, but I've spent several days reading a lot of the threads on this forum to familiarize myself with the process.

I have a HP desktop, m9360f, Windows Vista 64-bit, with IPIBL-LB motherboard (Benicia) and AMI BIOS v5.35. I see there is no BIOS mod for this version currently, but I am looking to upgrade to a more recent BIOS first.

Before I do so, I have a few questions specific to my computer... I would greatly appreciate if someone could answer them!

1) I looked extensively and it seems the latest original BIOS version for IPIBL-LB is 5.39. However, the only way to flash it to this version seems to be from a user-posted ROM file, no official manufacturer method.

Has anyone here tried to upgrade to the original BIOS 5.39 version posted at forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/7500-All-Slics-2.1-(Modded-Bios-List)-Note-For-requests-use-Bios-Mod-Requests-section?p=196364#post196364 on a HP m93xx computer? Will it work for all IPIBL-LB-based computers? Is it safe to upgrade from 5.35 to 5.39 directly, without going through 5.37?

2) With respect to BIOS v5.37 for IPIBL-LB, I saw a link to the official HP site (h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12454&prodSeriesId=3658372&swItem=vc-68959-1&prodNameId=3658376&swEnvOID=1093&swLang=13&taskId=135&mode=5), but that page doesn't say Windows Vista x64 is supported (only 32bit), and doesn't reference IPIBL-LB at all. Is it still safe to update the BIOS to this version? It seems to be easy to upgrade to that version since it is Windows-based flash utility, and there is a Bios Mod available here for that version (5.37).