Help getting UEFI

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by mowerman, Sep 1, 2021.

1. mowerman

mowerman MDL Novice

Mar 9, 2010
    I have a Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi running w10. In preparation for the upcoming w11 I have already enabled TPM, I need to also enable UEFI but have come to a dead end when attempting. I click "recovery, then Troubleshoot, then Advanced options, at which point I should be able to click UEFI settings but I am not given that option. Total beginner here. What should I do?

2. Enthousiast

Enthousiast MDL Tester

Oct 30, 2009
    UEFI is a bios setting, when changing that from LegacyBIOS to UEFI it's best to clean install win 11 from scratch.

3. ceo54

ceo54 MDL Addicted

Aug 13, 2015
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. TigTex

TigTex MDL Senior Member

Oct 5, 2009
    You can do that in some UEFI-BIOS that have a NTFS driver built in. ASUS is one of them but it's not "the proper way" of doing things. Full UEFI compliance requires a GPT partitioned disk and a FAT32 boot partition. But if it works it works, right?

5. kaljukass

kaljukass MDL Guru

Nov 26, 2012
    You're talking about WiFi and ask for enabling UEFI? These two are not related to each other in any way.
    You can enable UEFI on your computer if you have a BIOS, motherboard, etc. that allows UEFI and if the UEFI software is also installed. Do you have?
    Perhaps must start with what computer you're talking about at all, which BIOS version is installed, whether UEFI software is available for this configuration, and whether it is installed. Only after that can we start talking about of allowing or disabling it and how to use it or how not to use.
    And of course, You must have made partitions to use UEFI, these are fully different of these what are used for legacy boot and they cannot be simply converted, they must be done before you begin install anything at all.