Help with strange issue with 2 HP Compaq Elite Small Form Factor PC's

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by Droner58, May 1, 2016.

1. Droner58

Droner58 MDL Novice

Apr 12, 2016
    Hi there, I'm a newbie and this is my first post so please let me know if I'm posting in correct spot?

I have 2 older HP Compaq Elite Small Form Factor desktops running Win 10. Both are connected to my network via ethernet cables and share 1 HP monitor. I leave them on 24/7. Here's my problem. After being idle for a certain amount of time (typically overnight) , one of them completely locks up and needs to be hard booted. The other loses connection to the network and needs the Network Adapter disconnected, then reconnected to establish the connection. They both experience the same behavior each time. I'm a total loss at to what the cause could be? Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated!

Cheers,

2. nx9420

nx9420 MDL Novice

Sep 10, 2009
    #2 nx9420, May 1, 2016
    Last edited: May 1, 2016
    This could help you, not a huge lot of reading but once you manage to get around WPR it could be life changer :worthy: troubleshooting a bunch of other stuff (including battery life in laptops/ultrabooks/tablets)
    h!!ps://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/dn926873(v=vs.85).aspx

3. Ricardo41

Ricardo41 MDL Junior Member

Apr 6, 2011
    Hello,
    please see the setting in properties for your ethernet adapter- energy saving etc..
    if it freezes, it could be many things, heat, software or ram

4. LatinMcG

LatinMcG Bios Borker

Feb 27, 2011
    time for eventviewer .. or bluescreenview

5. T-S

T-S MDL Guru

Dec 14, 2012
    Try disabling the power saving features on the lan cards using the device manager.

6. PhaseDoubt

PhaseDoubt MDL Expert

Dec 24, 2011