How can I clear/remove /purge index.dat files using windows 8.1?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by quovadisuk, Mar 9, 2014.

1. quovadisuk

quovadisuk MDL Novice

Mar 9, 2014
    Can anyone advise , how I can clear these ? I used a pice of software on XP that worked well but is no longer compatible with windows 8.1 . If there is a way , can anyone advise please ( I am a newbie) ...once this is done ( if it can ) how can you check to see that it is in fact beeing cleared ? How can I check toinight that there is index files to clear ?

kind regards all

2. PaulDesmond

PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

Aug 6, 2009
    get CCleaner's newest version

3. quovadisuk

quovadisuk MDL Novice

Mar 9, 2014
    Removing index. Dat files

From what I have read other people have used this method, and although the software is very user friendly it doesnt aways remove the index.dat ...Others more experienced have checked the for files and still find the there even though they have ran thi software ...how you check this I dont know being a newbie

kind regards

4. PaulDesmond

PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

Aug 6, 2009
    CCleaner is a very sensitive software which does not damage your system like some other crap does. If this soft is used as it is supposed to, it cleans your system smoothly but not with the hammer. If the index.dat box is checked for cleaning purpose, it certainly does the job but carefully acts in any way afaik. Maybe some files are left over but these might be still necessary for proper function of IE

5. quovadisuk

quovadisuk MDL Novice

Mar 9, 2014
    index.dat files

As mentioned this is good software for browsers, but appears to less convincing on the inner C files that index.dat seems to lurge .... Even by running this software , you are advised that these have been removed but have they ? You a reliant on oe piece of software that could have not done its job well . There must be a way to check this has in fact been done ?

regards

6. Palladin