how can i incorporate few fonts into window 7?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by catdog215, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. catdog215

    catdog215 MDL Senior Member

    Oct 21, 2009
    396
    20
    10
    i have a few fonts that i would like to incorporate into window 7 so that it automatically installed instead of me having to copy and paste to the font directory after OS installed. Is there a way?

    thanks
     
  2. gentoo

    gentoo MDL Senior Member

    Oct 6, 2009
    394
    8
    10
    Not going to say it can't be done but I have never seen it. Maybe can be done with vlite. It may also be possible to be done with Unattend.xml but not sure.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Phazor

    Phazor MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,145
    517
    60
    #3 Phazor, Dec 3, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    A bat or cmd placed in the $$\Setup\Scripts folder should do it.

    Example:
    Code:
    cd "%~dp0"
    
    if not exist c:\windows\fonts\somefont.ttf copy somefont.ttf c:\windows\fonts
    
    
    In this scenario the bat or cmd and the fonts would be placed directly in the setup (edit: scripts) folder. The fonts could also be put in some subfolder but then the commands had to be adapted accordingly...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Phazor

    Phazor MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,145
    517
    60
    On second thought, it should be even easier to do.

    Since the contents of all folders in the $OEM$\$$ folder are being copied to the equivalent location in the windir anyway, (like branding images in $$\System32\OEM are being copied to Windows\System32\OEM), it is probably enough to just create $OEM$\$$\Fonts and put the fonts into the Fonts folder. Setup should then copy the fonts into the winfonts dir automatically, meaning no commands or anything should be necessary. The $OEM$ folder goes into the 'Sources' folder on your image...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. catdog215

    catdog215 MDL Senior Member

    Oct 21, 2009
    396
    20
    10
    #5 catdog215, Dec 3, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    Thanks. I already had $OEM$ folder in the "source" for auto activate Win7. do i need to create a sub folder and named "font" and place all fonts in that folder?

    this is what inside $OEM$: $OEM$\$$\SETUP\SCRIPTS\file for activating win7 from http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/11505

    so do i need to create sub folder like this example: $OEM$\$$\FONTS\all fonts file go here

    i do not need to write any script for it to install font?

    therefore $OEM$\$$\ consist of 2 sub folders. 1) SETUP and 2) FONTS
     
  6. Phazor

    Phazor MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,145
    517
    60
    Yep.

    Just make $OEM$\$$\Fonts and put the fontfiles into it.

    Then they should get copied to Windows\Fonts automatically because all other things in the $$ folder are being copied to their equivalent locations in the windir too...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. catdog215

    catdog215 MDL Senior Member

    Oct 21, 2009
    396
    20
    10
    Thanks a lot. can i also make another sub folder in the $OEM$\$$\EXTRA

    in this "extra" folder, i would like Win7 automatically install adobeReader, adobleFlash, WinRar,and etc... do i need a command for this to work? if so how because i know nothing about coding